Settled in a bit...


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Galápagos » Santa Cruz Island
February 14th 2013
Published: February 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I know it’s been awhile since I wrote, time is flying by. These past two weeks in the Galapagos has been great, even when I am totally overwhelmed and challenged I am grateful for each moment.

Every morning Isabel and one of their housekeepers Abigail, greets me with “Buenos Dias, quieres desayunar? “ which translates to “Good Morning, you want breakfast?”. Breakfast is usually coffee with milk, watermelon, a grilled cheese sandwich and eggs, sometimes fresh juice or a batido (milk and fruit).As I wait for breakfast, I sit at their large table with my Spanish homework. During that time I usually see Gabi on her way out to work, Aturo, the father, walking around always looking for something he lost and Mattias, the five year old, running by in his pajamas. Every morning one of the older family members instructs Mattias to greet me in English; which seems to be a popular thing here. Anytime I meet a family member and there is a young child around they ask them to show me what they know in English. I see the child’s total discomfort for being put on the spot, I can totally empathize with them. Then usually what happens next is the child or parent asks me if I can teach them English. They seem to be desperate for lessons here, which is why I have accepted the request.

I am teaching Mattias a few times a week and I am helping out at one of the schools here. Since most my clients are in the morning I figure I have the time to help, so why not? It is actually very helpful because I see how anyone who is learning a language is totally self-conscious, so it helps to normalize my own hang-ups. Though my Spanish is getting better everyday, I have the added difficulty here of everyone I meet having a different dialect or accent. My Spanish lessons are given by a woman from Quito but I am living with a Galapagoian family who speak with short cuts, kinda mumble and have their own variety of slang. Then there are my friends who are foreigners that not only learned ”proper” Spanish in school, but also have their own strong accents because they are from places like Germany or Holland. Needless to say my head is spinning! I have never had to concentrate so hard when listening to people talk.

I have been lucky enough to meet a variety of travelers and volunteers; unfortunately many are heading to other locations soon, but I have had some really nice times with them. Most of them are in their late twenties or early thirties trying to squeeze in this experience between their work and/or school. Some are just travelers looking for a place to land or for a deeper understanding of self. Those people are the most interesting because they have this overall presence of confidence within their independence; they are open and curious about their surroundings without reaching for a quick fix whenever things get uncomfortable. When I have felt a bit discombobulated I have found comfort in this because it teaches me to look inwards for stability and not try to fill the discomfort with external sources.

Traveling and living within another culture is all about the awkwardness and uncomfortable moments. There are times where you can’t believe how awkward you feel, but it is in those moments that I believe growth happens. I would say yesterday was the most awkward I have felt since my journey began and today I am grateful for it.

Here is what happened…

Isabel asked me to join the family for what I thought was a party/BBQ event. This week is Carnival, Galapagos Days and their elections, so there is something going on everyday and I am usually confused as to what we are celebrating. I knew that Isabel’s cousin was running for some sort of position in the government, which I still can’t get the right translation for. So yesterday at lunch I was asked to join them and to be at the house at 4:30pm so we can all go together. All I heard was "fiesta", so I accepted. When I got to the house at 4:30pm I was given a blue t-shirt to wear with the name of their cousin on it, also noticing that everyone else was wearing the shirts. I put on the shirt thinking to myself “what did I get myself into?” we all leave the house and catch a taxi.

We arrive on the other side of town where there are banners, decorated trucks and many many people with this t-shirt on. I realize then that I am joining a parade to promote their cousin’s campaign. The next four hours turns out to be quite the adventure. I end up waiting in this crowd for almost 2 hours, just watching the people get prepared to march through the city. Isabel is helping out; passing out flags, t-shirts and streamers. I am sitting amongst the crowd just waiting and hoping to god that this person I am promoting is a good candidate! Ever so often random friends and family members I have met in the past few weeks would greet me, but all in all I was pretty uncomfortable.

Finally we begin to get in a line and I figure out that they want me to hold a corner of a huge banner, I couldn’t help but laugh to myself on how weird this all WAS! I really need to listen before I say yes to things. But I held my corner and then marched down the streets of Santa Cruz! Ever so often someone would spray blue powder at us, which got all over my hair and face. After about an hour of walking and trying to coordinate making waves with the banner with some VERY pushy women, we are instructed to turn around. I realize then, to my horror that I am now first in line... I am leading this PARADE!!!! I honestly couldn’t believe what was happening. So for about another hour I am leading the people! I was trying so hard not to laugh but I was dying.

When we approach the park I hear my name being yelled out and I look and see Cloe, my new friend who lives on another Island. She yells out “What are you doing??” We both begin to laugh and I yell out to her “ I thought I was invited to a BBQ!” At that moment I see a stage and lots of lights, this must be our final destination. I am happy and ready to ditch this thing and go have dinner with Cloe and her family when I feel a push on my back from the most aggressive woman in our “group”. She wants us all to run with the banner around in a circle. Well…I might as well go all the way with this…so I run. After three laps I drop my corner and scoot over to my friend. I honestly couldn’t do this anymore. Cloe and I laugh and I tell her how I came to this situation; her father gives me a hug and says “Let me buy you a beer”.

As we begin to leave Isabel sees me and comes over to us. I introduce her to my friend and her family and explain that I am going to dinner but will return. We hug goodbye and I am off to dinner. I later come to find out that this candidate is really corrupt...but I guess they all are in some way. I am, however, in a ton of pictures for this person so lets hope this doesn’t come back to haunt me 😉.

So that was the most uncomfortable experience to date. At the time I would have done anything to get out of it, but now I have a really funny story. This morning the family was really sweet and grateful that I helped out; so it was worth it. Today over breakfast Isabel and I listened to the elections on the radio and she explained to me the politics here. It’s seems to be the same here as it is everywhere else…lots of talk and little action.

Today being Valentine’s Day I got a piece of chocolate and a big hug and kiss from Isabel and her husband. She just left the house to do her usual morning errands wearing a bright red dress and blowing a kiss goodbye to little Mattias and me. So… as uncomfortable as I felt yesterday I know that if I just sit back and experience each moment, knowing that there is a natural ebb and flow to this, all will be well.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb