Lice and Flees


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Riobamba
July 10th 2010
Published: July 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Watch the WallWatch the WallWatch the Wall

First the hole
I called the doctor yesterday because I thought I had flees. Turns out I have lice AND flees. My Peace Corps lifestyle is so more hardcore than yours. Are you jealous yet?

On the plus side, look at all the things I've been doing. I've been working with this group and we do things to make the school better. We carried a new swing set up this mountainside, we made a small green area, and then we've been working on building this wall to keep the dogs out. Also, once a week I go to Riobamba to work in this garden project at a Juvenile Detention Center. This kids are so awesome. And when I'm not working in my community I'm making things. Things like food and art.

Also, I went to a party in my town for graduation. More like I went to 9 different parties, one for each student that graduated from high school. And at each house they had to serve everyone a full meal with a first and second course. So much food. But in the country side its very common to take a plastic bag of the food to go. So I have a
Watch the Wall 2Watch the Wall 2Watch the Wall 2

Then the sides of the foundation.
house full of potatoes right now. So much food.

Lots of photos, not that many words.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Watch the Wall 3Watch the Wall 3
Watch the Wall 3

Then we put stones inside.
Minga WorkMinga Work
Minga Work

This is how we carry the stones. Good old fashion manual labor.
Minga Work 2Minga Work 2
Minga Work 2

We also had to carry over a bunch of pebbles using the sacks.
Minga Work 3Minga Work 3
Minga Work 3

Mixing equal parts of cement, sand, and small pebbles, we make the concrete.
Minga Work 4Minga Work 4
Minga Work 4

Mix everything!
Minga Work 5Minga Work 5
Minga Work 5

Once mixed we carry everything over in these little buckets.
Watch the Wall 4Watch the Wall 4
Watch the Wall 4

Lastly, we put the cement mix inside. A days work.
My Boys at the CenterMy Boys at the Center
My Boys at the Center

Garden Project at the Juvenile Detention Center in Riobamba
Me and My BoysMe and My Boys
Me and My Boys

Garden Project at the Juvenile Detention Center in Riobamba
Art ProjectArt Project
Art Project

A match box gift box for my friend. The art on top is a mimic of the Ecuadorian artist Guayasamin.
My living roomMy living room
My living room

I started my Escher mural. Its hard to see, I know, but just you wait.
My living room 2My living room 2
My living room 2

Other angle of my wall.
PancakesPancakes
Pancakes

What a nightmare. I am a horrible cook.
Finished pancakesFinished pancakes
Finished pancakes

Pancakes or chunks of food? Nobody knows!
Pancake PerfectoPancake Perfecto
Pancake Perfecto

Like most things in my Peace Corps experience, fail, fail, fail try again. Prevail!
YogurtYogurt
Yogurt

I made that yogurt from straight up cows milk
CakeCake
Cake

Its chocolate and super delicious. Way easier to make then pancakes.
My backyard againMy backyard again
My backyard again

See those lambs, they're my neighbors.
Food DisasterFood Disaster
Food Disaster

Huge party in my town. This is the pile of fundas (plastic bags) that I took food to go in. Very common in the campo.
Food Disaster 2Food Disaster 2
Food Disaster 2

These are the containers after consolidating the food from the party in my town.
Food Disaster 3Food Disaster 3
Food Disaster 3

Seriously, how could they expect me to eat that much food.
Food Disaster 5Food Disaster 5
Food Disaster 5

See that cuy head.


Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb