Technology and DVDs


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Puyo
January 20th 2008
Published: January 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I failed to mention in my last blog about an issue we had with a DVD and a DVD player. For our environmental video series in Puyo, I purchased - Fern Gully: The Last Rainforest when I was back in the States last September. It is a kids movie, which we needed one for the video series. Of course, I tested the video on our laptop and Andrea took it to her house to preview it as well. We all agreed that it would be perfect for the kids here.

When we went to play it at the Casa de Cultura, their DVD player would not recognize the video. After many attempts, we were told that the reason it wouldn´t play was because their DVD player doesn´t recognize originally formatted movies. What!?! A DVD player designed to only play cheap Chinese copies of movies - unbelievable. Oh well, we had a back-up movie - Hoot - a cheap chinese copy.

Along these same lines, I ventured into town this afternoon to find the last of the Harry Potter movies and/or the Indiana Jones movies (hey, I´ve been Jonesing - pun intended - to see these movies). We were without power all of Saturday and most of today. When the power came on, I went to town. I hunted through the DVD stores and was disappointed that I could find movies like Porkys Revenge, but couldn´t find a classic like Indiana Jones. Finally, by a whim, I stopped in a small DVD store with about 20 DVDs and low and behold they had the 1st and the 3rd Indiana Jones movies. I inquired about Porkys Revenge and the owner gave me a blank look - good for him.

So, I plan on returning to the apartment, going for a bike ride, making some dinner, reading a little, and then settling in with a good movie. Sue is in Quito for another workshop, hence my tiempo libre (free time).

Peace,
Jeremy

Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0199s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1011kb