Simple Things I Enjoy


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Puyo
May 20th 2007
Published: May 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was a day to enjoy. I really had absolutely nothing that needed to get done. I thought about building a bed frame and made all the necessary calculations - then decided, that I didn´t want to spend the day indoors doing that - afterall, today was one of the first sunny days in a while. I got up, had some breakfast (yogurt and granola), then proceeded to wash my clothes, sheets, and towels. I used some string I had to put up some makeshift clotheslines on the roof - I would have gone into town to get real clothesline first, but there was no telling how long the sun would last. By the time, I finished washing clothes, the sheets were already dry - so I was off to a good start.

I then walked into town to get a few things, including clothesline. I went to my favorite ferretaria (hardware store) and asked how much some cuerda (rope) would cost. I was told 10 cents per meter. I said that I wanted 30 meters ($3.00 worth). I was told that 50 meters was a better deal - How much better I inquired ..... I was told I could get 50 meters for $2.00. I did the easy math in my head and couldn´t figure out how this was possible. Then I thought, well, they must have spools or packages of 50m already made, alas, no this was not the case. The guy grabbed a big spool and measured out 50 meters for me and I paid my $2.00 and thanked him for the deal. I love this country!!!

I returned home destined for the roof and my clothesline project. Up on the roof, I noticed that one of my neighbors has decided to keep a chicken and a puppy. The chicken didn´t last long - I think they ate it last night, but the puppy was there to ¨help¨me put up line. He´s a cute guy, but he managed to tangle my 50 meters of rope and it took me a good 20 minutes to untangle it. Anyhow, I managed to put up a ton of clothesline. As I was doind so, my favorite neighbor (the ¨friendly¨one) came up to the roof to hang clothes. There were apparently some clothes on his line from one of the other neighbors. He immediately told me that he spoke with my wife about hanging our clothes on his line. I immediately introduced myself and said those were not my clothes and that I was hanging enough line on the roof for everyone to use and that some of his line was in my way - we all had to share the roof. He looked a me with a weird look, shook his head, and then hung his clothes on his own line. I don´t know, my Spanish isn´t great, so who knows what I really told him. Anyhow, with that project done, I decided to go for a short run.

In the afternoon, I walked by into town get some flour and a soft drink. I went to the TIA, which is the closest thing to a grocery store in these parts and had to decide whether to buy 500ml of diet coke for 80 cents or 2 liters for $1.25. I did the math, assessed my thirst, and purchased the 2 liters. On my way home, the skies opened up and it poured - I didn´t care, I like the cooling rains here. I did stop on the way back at a ice cream shop. What lured me in was a sign that read Chocobananas 25 cents.

Yes, I like chocobananas, but Sue likes them even more. They could be here favorite food in Ecuador. There is a place she frequents that sells them for $.15 and they are pretty good. But, I wanted to check out this new place. I ordered one, and to my suprise, the guy pulled out a fresh banana, dipped it in milk chocolate and then asked what kind of coating I wanted on it, peanuts, coconut, candy....oh my, I chose peanuts, paid the guy, took my chocobanana and indulged. It was 100 times better than the ones Sue gets. When she returns from the Jungle and I tell her about my discovery I could become the reigning husband of the year.

It is amazing how something that costs $.25 or less could have such a warming impact on my wife - I love her dearly and love the fact that I can influence her so easy with sweets. If ever Susan had a weakness - this is it!!!

Peace,
Jeremy

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0773s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb