Latacunga, the middle child of Ecuador (Nov. 28 - Dec. 1, 2017)


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Latacunga
November 30th 2017
Published: February 21st 2022
Edit Blog Post

Latacunga surprised me. It really did. I stay there a couple of days longer than I did most other average towns and found myself liking the vibe of this city. There weren't much to do here. Simply just relax.

I met a middle aged Dutch man at the guesthouse I was staying at. We discussed politic and world economy. He gave me a book on my nations fail. I read it from cover to cover.

I took the local bus for a day trip to Laguna Quilotoa. It was quite scenic. A crater that has become a lake over time.

The Dutch guy and myself joined a group to see Vulcan Cotopaxi. The itinerary in included a hike to the top or near top of this volcano, of which I did not make. The guides drop of off near the top and we begun our hike. Half an hour into the hike my shoulder started hurting. It was a piercing pain. The cold must have triggered it. This shoulder injury dated back to my time at Quest. Caused most likely by the repeated use of the 50 lbs rolling pin. It may have been lighter. Anyways, back to the volcano...I told the group that my shoulder was hurting and couldn't continue. I head back down and wait for the group at the site of the drop off. Later a girl from my group told me that she developed a similar pain in her shoulder carrying her backpack in the military. The dutch guy told me that he would've carried my backpack if he'd known.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb