Slowing Down the Pace - Time for Creativity


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Baños
December 21st 2009
Saved: December 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Aloha amigos!!!Aloha amigos!!!Aloha amigos!!!

The newly painted wall outside Shana's house. Aloha is Hola spelled sideways (sorta).
The past month has been relaxing, but you won’t believe it when I tell you all I’ve done!! Most days, Shana and I play 2-4 hours of Scrabble, I go up to the hot baths 3x a week, I read at least an hour a day, and cuddle up with Maxi the dog and Chia the kitty to watch TV or a movie for a couple of hours daily. As always, I am transfixed by the beautiful volcano which I can admire right from my bedroom window. Mama Tungurahua hasn't rumbled or spewed ashes in months, but her small glacier, the shifting clouds and changing light make for many photo ops.




I try to keep up with my email & blog, but it’s been challenging to get onto the internet since we’ve had rolling power cuts to conserve energy. Due to lack of rain, Ecuador’s hydroelectric plants cannot produce enough power to meet the country’s needs. The solution; 2-3 hours a day without electricity. Supposedly, they announce each morning on the radio what time that day’s cuts will be, but here in Banos there’s one schedule for down in town and another for up on the hill
Banos FinestBanos FinestBanos Finest

Police keep the fire under watch until the big guns arrive.
(where Shana’s house is). In short, we’re never quite sure when we’ll be in the dark. You never realize how much you rely on electricity until you don't have it!!




Luckily, we cook with gas so we don’t go hungry! Shana and I take turns preparing meals. I've really missed cooking these past few months, and it's fun to try new recipes and be creative in the kitchen. We attempt to go heavy on the fruits and vegetables (just made a huge batch of Mango Chutney - yum!). I would sure love to shed another 10-20 lbs, but my middle-aged metabolism isn’t cooperating. I do get out for a hike in the hills once a week or so and I swim for a half hour in the warm pools several times a week, but I know I should be doing more walking too. Since losing my walking buddy, Chaco, I have trouble motivating myself to get out daily. I do go along with Maxi and his dog-walker now and then, but they go at sunset and I'm usually tired out by then!




One day, Shana and I were playing Scrabble and it
Firefighters in ActionFirefighters in ActionFirefighters in Action

Power hoses make quick work of the burning brush. A few weeks without rain and the wind whips up a flame.
sounded like it was starting to rain, but Shana recognized the sound for what it was. FIRE! The weeds and brush on the far side of the road were aflame and a brisk wind was carrying the flames quickly up the hill. Shana called the fire dept, but the police arrived first. She pulled her garden hose out across the road and one of the cops tried to keep the fire from spreading. The firemen arrived in less than 10 minutes and were able to squelch the blaze with their powerful hoses. All in the, the adventure lasted less than a half hour.




Shana and I decided to host a Thanksgiving feast at her home. In preparation, we took a trip up to the big supermarket in Ambato, a large city just an hour from Banos. There we found our succulent 25 lb turkey - more than enough to feed our 12 dinner guests and have plenty of leftovers. The sumptuous stuffing was stuffed with fresh herbs from the garden spirals and I made my favorite Carrot Cake, complete with Craisins brought back from my last visit to the states. (By the way, anyone coming down
Giving ThanksGiving ThanksGiving Thanks

Joining hands to tell what we're thankful for before digging in to the traditional feast.
to visit, bring dried cranberries….we can’t get them here at all!). I dug thru my storage boxes and found African fabrics to use as tablecloths, as well as some dishes and cutlery to supplement Shana’s supply. A delicious and delightful time was shared by all in attendance - mostly Americans but also two Aussies, a Kiwi, a Brit and a German.




The day after Thanksgiving, Shana and I headed up to Quito (about a 3 hour drive). I had some medical visits pending and I also needed to collect donations for the library’s Garage Sale Fund Raiser. I had contacted my Quito friends about gathering used clothing, toys, etc. and this was a good opportunity to visit everyone. Alas, Quito traffic is horrible (even worse when the power is out and the stoplights aren't on) and I found myself criss-crossing the valleys to get to everyone's home for my junk pick-ups. I must have spent over two hours a day in my truck, but I took it in stride, vowing all the while that I'll never live in the big city again! I stayed with my dear friends, The Rules, at their home high up on
Parking Spot with a ViewParking Spot with a ViewParking Spot with a View

At Dean and Debbie's home above Quito, the best view of all is from the parking pad. Morci enjoyed this visit!
the western slopes overlooking the city. Since Debbie's Dad has returned to live in the US, I got to stay in his guest house which gave me plenty of room to sort thru and box up the donations. There must have been 40 pairs of shoes!!




I was also grateful for the private guest house space during the days I was doing the laxative prep for my colonoscopy. Since being diagnosed with Crohn's disease almost a decade ago, I've tried to keep current with my gastroenterological exams. Fortunately, my health has been good. I've had my Ecuadorian health insurance for over a year and I had declared the Crohn's as a pre-existing condition, so my intestinal exams were completely covered by my policy. I went ahead and had complete blood tests, bone density, etc. Just by chance (overhearing another patron), I found out that my insurance premiums will go up 30% on my next birthday (I turn 50 on Feb 15). Talk about adding insult to injury. Now I have to decide if I'll continue with the same insurance company or not. I probably will, but I do plan to make a visit to their offices
Mosaic Wall MuralMosaic Wall MuralMosaic Wall Mural

Fabulous works of art combine to create a stunning mural. Drivers crane their necks to take in the view - there have almost been a few crashes!
and let them know what I think about the increase.




Back in Banos - I’ve really enjoyed helping out at the volunteer library here in town. There are always interesting artists and visitors volunteering for a month or three or six. Check out the library’s website: www.artedelmundoecuador.com The project in November was a mosaic mural on the outside corner wall. It was completed in collaboration with the senior students of the art department at the technical high school in town. They completed the “framed” pieces high up on the wall, and we volunteers did the surrounding river scene and details. I enjoyed getting my hands back into mosaic artwork and there was always a joyous creative spirit among us worker bees. Neighborhood residents often stopped by to comment on the wall’s progress and bring us broken tile bits from their kitchen or bathroom projects. Everyone wanted to be a part of this gorgeous project in some way. In the process, it built community.




Another way that I volunteer at the library is by facilitating the Tuesday evening "Intercambio" sessions. This is an "exchange" of language, culture and more. The English speaking volunteers
My piece of the Mosaic WallMy piece of the Mosaic WallMy piece of the Mosaic Wall

I worked on the bottom of the swirl and the Inti Raymi Sun God (fitting in the black pieces around the yellow rays). The mirrored bit just above his face is the right height for kids and tiny old ladies. All stop to look in it!
are paired up with the Ecuadorian English learners (classes are offered at the library) and other interested locals. I try to create activities and lessons that are fun and have something to offer everyone. I had a most challenging Intercambio to lead last week - only two Spanish speakers showed up, so I used Ecuador photos to have them help the volunteers learn about local culture. As I taught an English lesson, I presented on two levels so that the volunteers were also getting a lesson on how to teach English grammar. Along the way we threw in some Spanish learning as well. Our two Ecuadorians enjoyed feeling that they were helping others to learn and I think that everyone came away with something valuable.




The Garage Sale event was a huge success. This is the 2nd time that the BIB (Biblioteca Interactiva de Banos) hosted a sale of used items. In the week leading up to it, I helped sort and price items. We selected the best quality clothing in the best condition and I had the honor of being the salesgal for the "Boutique" section of the sale. We were all set up and
Garage Sale Boutique CornerGarage Sale Boutique CornerGarage Sale Boutique Corner

We decided that hanging clothes might be able to fetch a higher price. Welcome to my boutique (before the shoppers mobbed it!)
ready to start when the gates open and the shoppers descended....in droves. Fortunately, another volunteer arrived just in time to help me out. I had to keep an eye on the jewelry, purses and lingerie table and she helped folks try on the jackets and coats.




By midday we'd met our goal, having earned almost $700 - enough to buy a gas hot water heater for the shower in the volunteer quarters and a full-sized refrigerator for the volunteers' kitchen. SO - the next day Jody & Bobby & I headed back up to Ambato to purchase these all-important appliances. We comparison shopped in the appliance stores, stretched along the main avenue. I had seen these guys with their ducks the last time I was in Ambato, but this time I managed to get a picture. The cars move out of the way for the displaced waterfowl!! On the way back to Banos I carefully angled the truck over the speed bumps to protect our purchases in back!




Once the mural was finished and the yard sale was over, we loaded up the truck with friends and went down to the mosaic
Tarabita Cable Car RideTarabita Cable Car RideTarabita Cable Car Ride

Manta de Novia (Bridal Veil) Falls in the background. Exhilarating to soar over the river valley!
cavern spa, an hour east of Banos. I first discovered this amazing place over a year ago and have been dreaming of going with a group of friends. To rent the jacuzzi (alas the sauna & steam were not yet operational) you need to have at least 10 people. We packed up a picnic lunch, put cushions in the truck bed, and set off through the tunnels. It's such a beautiful drive, dropping down as the Pastaza River (a major tributary of the Amazon) twists and bends with waterfalls all along both sides, rivers rushing into it as it widens out towards the Amazon Basin. At regular intervals there are 'tarabita' cable cars which span the river valley. My favorite zips across, ending right above a rushing waterfall called Bridal Veil (Manta de Novia).




While they were finishing filling the jacuzzi (it ends up we were the first to rent out the spa and they still hadn't mastered the process) we closed ourselves into the restaurant to enjoy our picnic. We had to close ourselves in because the monkeys are very aggressive (too much contact with people). They tried to steal backpacks, broke the antenna on
Jacuzzi for 10Jacuzzi for 10Jacuzzi for 10

Imagine it full of hot steamy water. Ah!
my truck, and one of them climbed behind the wheel and wouldn't get out. We had to lure him away with a banana! So, the restaurant area with wire mesh on the windows gave us some peace for our meal! We were celebrating Jody's birthday so I had brought along the other half of the carrot cake (there were so many desserts at our Thanksgiving potluck, we actually had leftovers!)




After the birthday picnic, we piled into the jacuzzi and chilled out in the warm water. Until the water level rose a bit more, we had to all hunker down to bring it up above the level of the jacuzzi jets. If not, they sprayed us in the face! Finally it filled and we floated, chatted, relaxed and enjoyed one another's company inside the exquisitely adorned mosaic cavern. It tried to get some photos but my camera's flash just reflected off the steam. On the drive back up to Banos the riders in the back got caught in a major downpour, but it didn't matter since they were already wet!!!




What's next?? Shana and I will be joining a group of the
Monkeying AroundMonkeying AroundMonkeying Around

At least he didn't poop in my front seat! This pesky fellow did NOT want to get out.
volunteers for a Christmas dinner, and on New Year's day I have a job helping to waitress for a group of 60 diners in an outdoor garden. In mid-January we'll head up to Quito again. I will be meeting with two of the Engineers Without Borders for a short trip up to the indigenous village in the mountains. They will be giving a course on basic plumbing and electrical and I will be interpreting. It's been over a year since I've been to the village and I'm looking forward to it. I was supposed to return to the coast to manage the hotel, but it looks like I won't be needed until late Feb or early March so the plan is to celebrate my 50th with friends on the northern coast at Playa Escondida before heading down south and back to work (for a few months). I have a few friends coming to visit in March and April, then in May I will reconnect with a former student who will be travelling north from Peru. SO- When are YOU coming to visit? The best part about living in Ecuador is the joy of sharing it with friends who come down
Mosaic Lounge ChairMosaic Lounge ChairMosaic Lounge Chair

Everything is mosaic tiled - even these leaf-shaped lounge chairs. The artist forgot to put a hole for the water to drain out so I was sitting in a puddle!
to go exploring with me.





I hope you all have a happy, healthy holiday season in the company of loved ones. May the new year bring joy & peace to all.
PS - I always post too many photos so keep scrolling down to see them all -- Un abrazo! (hug!!)






Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 26


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom

Mosaic ShowerMosaic Shower
Mosaic Shower

It's completely dark so you only see it when you take a flash photo!
Peek-a-boo!Peek-a-boo!
Peek-a-boo!

Window opening in the cool-off chamber beside the jacuzzi.
Dux in the CityDux in the City
Dux in the City

Main street Ambato (Avenida Cevallos) and the ducks are learning to use the crosswalk!
Boomerang Cloud over TungurahuaBoomerang Cloud over Tungurahua
Boomerang Cloud over Tungurahua

I never tire of taking photos of the volcano. This is the view from my bedroom.
Mineral Baths at El SaladoMineral Baths at El Salado
Mineral Baths at El Salado

As seen from above on a hike with Maxi, these are the baths which are a 5 min walk frm Shana's house. The big pool is usually not so crowded - heavenly to swim in 90 degree mineral water.
Maxi & Chia Cuddle CloseMaxi & Chia Cuddle Close
Maxi & Chia Cuddle Close

Maxi is very sweet with his kitty (aka babazikit). He lets her share his bed, and sometime she takes over the whole thing!
Table for 12Table for 12
Table for 12

Waiting for Thanksgiving guests to arrive. I love how the Ecuadorian ceramics look on the African patterns.
Valley View frm the TarabitaValley View frm the Tarabita
Valley View frm the Tarabita

Wind in my hair over the Pastaza River Valley. Ah!
Garden Spiral / Step OneGarden Spiral / Step One
Garden Spiral / Step One

Make swirls with the hose to create the outline.
Garden Spiral / Step TwoGarden Spiral / Step Two
Garden Spiral / Step Two

Layer bricks along the spiral pattern.
Garden Spiral Ready to PlantGarden Spiral Ready to Plant
Garden Spiral Ready to Plant

Fill with soil and compost. These spirals will house herbs for tea and lettuce for salad.
Herb Garden SpiralHerb Garden Spiral
Herb Garden Spiral

This spiral is made with lava stones. I love eating carrots and beets and turnips right out of the garden!
What?! I can't hear you!What?! I can't hear you!
What?! I can't hear you!

Earless Mickey trash can head. His nose could use a spot of paint as well. Poor Mickey!!
They're Nekkid!!They're Nekkid!!
They're Nekkid!!

The Mannequin Factory located along the Panamerican Hwy. Every time I drive by I vow I'll stop and take a photo...I finally did!!


Comments only available on published blogs

25th December 2009

Thank you
Thanks Jill for all your delightful and heartwarming adventures. I always enjoy reading them. Happy Holidays and peace to all!
26th December 2009

Hello Jill from the Weescot :-)
Hi Jill, A Very Merry Christmas to you ! Thanks for your update,always enjoy reading them.......you are living a priviledged life ,My Dear........thankfully,its a well kept secret which most 'humans from developed countries' have yet to discover :-) I am discovering it in Sri Lanka ;-) I WILL be visiting you,when I get my own thing sorted at this end of the world.........you have a big birthday next year !! Will make a note in my diary,and will drink a toast to you that day ,and hope one day will get to celebrate with you in person, love,hugs,and very best wishes for 2010, jillweescot x.
1st January 2010

Busy Gal!
Jill, you always find great ways to keep busy, have fun and do good at the same time. Love it. Also, laughed when you mentioned the rolling electrical black-outs - remember them well from living in Guayaquil in 1996 and got reacquainted with them when in Quito last month. No matter how much things change, the more they stay the same.

Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 11; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0847s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb