Banos for a day


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Baños
August 19th 2008
Published: September 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Melcocha shop Melcocha shop Melcocha shop

Sugar cane taffy lovely but bad for your teeth!!!
The Rough guide rated Banos highly and although I wanted to spend a good few days there a day trip from Quito worked out really well and we had a great time in the town and seeing all the waterfalls.

Baños lies four hours from the capital city of Quito; it is a peaceful little city on the slopes of Tungurahua Volcano at 1,820 meters above sea level. This Andean village is surrounded by snowcapped volcanoes and has wonderful thermal springs. The impressive snowcapped volcanic peaks that surround Baños are four in number: TUNGURAHUA (5,061m), CHIMBORAZO (6,310m), ALTAR (5,320m) and CARIHUAIRAZO (5,020m). The scenary from and around the city is wonderfull and the city has lots of crafts and handiwork shops I was in my element!!! I´ve had to buy an exta bag so I can get all my Latin American souvenirs back to Greenwich!!!

Ok here is a quizz for you - How many waterfalls have I visited since I started travelling in January ? The detail is in the blogs and there is a special prize going for the 1st person ( that I know) that can tell me the answer!!! Good luck!!

One more blog to go..................





Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



3rd September 2008

Waterfalls!
I'm not going to go back through the blogs to check so I'll guess twenty two!!

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 4; ; mem: 1mb