Cartagena & Cali


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia
April 19th 2006
Published: April 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I've been back for a week now but thought I'd put some more pictures up. I would have done it earlier but the computers were soo slow in Colombia and I didn't have much time to spend in the internet cafes. Better late than never though.

Cartagena was ok but a little dissapointing. After having spent the previous 2 weeks traveling through Colombia and meeting only a small amount of tourists, Cartagena was a bit of shock. This is beacause many cruise ships stop off at Cartagena and loads and loads of package deal tourists spill into the streets. This has created a whole community of locals who follow around these tourists trying to sell things or beg. Being a gringo just trying to see the sights means having to fend off an endless amount of hawkers, beggers, and touts. Cartagena was way too touristy for me but I will say that the city has some great colonial architecture and a variety of appetizing seafood.

I quickly hopped on a flight from Cartagena to Cali which is the second largest city in Colombia. Cali is a verdant city known for its warm climate, salsa, and proclaiming to have the best looking girls in the whole country although the people of Medellin will be quick to dispute that. While the city doesn't have many so-called tourist attractions, I found it to be quite pleasant and easy to go about the day there.

Palm Sunday weekend I took an hour long bus out to Palmira where I was picked up by my cousin's wife's uncle.....the great Jose Fernando. Jose took me to his ranch in the mountains just outside Palmira in a town called La Buitrera. With a population of only about 2000, it's a nice little retreat from the city life.

La Buitrera was awesome. The small town jovial feeling combined with the surrounding beauty provided for the perfect conclusion to my Colombian trip. I had the opportunity to meet more of Jose's great family that sunday and we had a barbeque and some drinks. I barely made it to my flite back to Bogota that night because of a drink called aguardiente, the local sugarcane derived liquor. Flying back to Bogota I knew I would miss La Buitrera and the rest of the country. I can't wait to return to beautiful Colombia!


Check back in a day or two for one last entry consisting of a hodge podge of Brazil and Colombia pictures.





Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

salud!salud!
salud!

my new Colombian family about to toss back some aguardiente
Jose FernandoJose Fernando
Jose Fernando

This is Jose and a sweet old family friend whose name I can't remember for the life of me, sorry
cartagenacartagena
cartagena

limonada
calicali
cali

i have never seen these things before but they're all over Colombia. I can't remember how many beers are in one but they never seem to last too long among friends.
churchchurch
church

it was crowded for semana santa(easter week)
tourist grouptourist group
tourist group

there were tons of these tourist groups(mosty of which were American) everywhere you looked in the centro of Cartagena
churchchurch
church

this is the church in the middle of the Bogota airport
cartagena cartagena
cartagena

the other side


Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb