Day 8 Medellin El Parque de los Pies Descalzos


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Medellin
January 14th 2011
Published: January 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

2 Blocks  From My Place2 Blocks  From My Place2 Blocks From My Place

There are 10,000 blocks like this in the city I think. many bars and restaurants
The gym charges $70,000 cop/mensual & I seem kinda busy so will pay $6,000/day $3 USD. Bring your drinking cup if you like coffee on the go I lost mine and can't find one here.

Great date with Filipe's mom. We went to El Parque de los Pies Descalzos .
The Park of the Barefoot Feet
Lucy chose not to do it, but enjoyed the ambiance,

Walk on stones though a bamboo grove to a sandy area with trees arranged with ying and yang in mind, to another sandy area, drag your feet for energy benefit and feel some trees with very soft, velvety bark from Australia.

Next you go though a maze of stone pillars, hands over your chest and eyes closed using your feet to find your way (kicking gently ahead and to the side to find your way. Could have used a blindfold, felt pretty strange and opened my eyes once. Then it was on to bigger and more dangerous challenges.

You walk on some pillars stepping from the top of pillar to pillar at most 6 feet off the ground. You really don't want to slip in between them!!
Parque Pies DescalzosParque Pies DescalzosParque Pies Descalzos

A scary walk going by feel of your feet with your gaze on a church steeple across the street.
The problem is you have have to have your vision fixed on a church steeple a block away instead of on where the next pillar is.

So like the maze you go by feel but balance is in play as your going up and down and you can't pick the best route because you can't see it. Your thinking this is not a good idea, but it turns out not as dangerous as at first perceived. Then some foot bathing and massaging and 30 min. later it's done and you do feel more relaxed.

Went for a almost fast food chicken dinner for 2 was 27,000 Pesos, 4,000 for a beer and 2,000 for a water on Carrera 70 near Lucy's house. Lots of life, very touristic (rather expensive for Colombia) but no English speaking tourists. One guy said Hows it going friend, I'll get rid of the shirt. You don't want to stand out in S. America.

Pleasant stroll (1 mile) to Estadios station near my place and back to Lucy's and the day was done. Most intensive Spanish so far (5.5 hrs continuous) The guide in the park helped me also. She is very patient
Most Dangerous Area MedellinMost Dangerous Area MedellinMost Dangerous Area Medellin

Only room for 1 person on this bridge sidewalk. Lot of people and fast moving traffic.
and got better at guessing what I meant when I used bad phrasing etc.

Might go to the Botanical Gardens next.

Day 9 Parque Lleras
Took the Metro to Parque LLeras, in big upscale area of Poblado. I may look for accommodation, was here for a week 4 yrs ago. Was supposed to meet a girl close by to practice Spanish with but I went to the wrong Juan Valdez Cafe, they are all over. Talked to to some retired teachers for an hour, a little more immersion. I will try to meet Carolina tomorrow.
at the same Juan Valdez.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Metro San Antonio StationMetro San Antonio Station
Metro San Antonio Station

Where I transfer from the main line at rush hour.
Rottweiler Muzzled Rottweiler Muzzled
Rottweiler Muzzled

All the dogs are muzzled, 100's mostly rottys
PobladoPoblado
Poblado

Very modern part of the city. and very central.
Lucy, my date last night.Lucy, my date last night.
Lucy, my date last night.

Across the street was a very dangerous area she said but I am sure it is safer than the bridge.
Michael and FilipeMichael and Filipe
Michael and Filipe

At a bar on Carrera 70
Minimum WageMinimum Wage
Minimum Wage

Just raised to about 500.000 Pesos about $250/month.
Poblado GymPoblado Gym
Poblado Gym

None of the streets in Medellin are straight.
Poblado ModernoPoblado Moderno
Poblado Moderno

Pictures worth a bunch of words.
Simple $2 bowl for a sink.Simple $2 bowl for a sink.
Simple $2 bowl for a sink.

Why not it works .
At the barefoot parkAt the barefoot park
At the barefoot park

Me Lucy and our guia.


15th January 2011

The shirt
I agree - too touristy a shirt! Hahaha. I would think you'd get dizzy on those raised platforms just knowing how far above ground you would be. Tell your date that I said you are "un hombre loco pero mucho simpatico".
15th January 2011

Parque de los Pies Descalzos
Catica It is a confidence booster, when your up about 6 ft high and he says you have to find your way with your feet I am thinking yes, I am going to fall over and kill my self doing this. IThen you do a quick calculation about health insurance and quality of care here in Colombia and then you have to go. And the more you go the easier it gets. I guess it is always fun when you conquer a fear.

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0766s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb