Montezuma’s revenge


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Medellin
August 18th 2007
Published: August 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Montezuma’s revenge is anything but pleasant. Well how it happened was, on Thursday I stayed up until almost 3 am talking. On Friday had to wake up earlyto go to the beach, around 9. In the morning I was horribly fatigued my head ached, my stomached roared, the goose bumps ran up and down my arms, and I felt nauseous.
When we go to the beach I found a cabana and I laid down all day. After the beach, was when the toilet became my friend, because if it wasn’t from one end it was from the other. I got a fever, my stomach swirled and it continued all night. Unfortunately, I couldn’t fully enjoy my last day in san Andres.
Saturday we left San Andres, my pain all over continued…it was a nice looong flight.
When we got back to Medellin Saturday evening my mom immediately called Carlos for advice on what I should take. He told her I should take some pills, and lots of liquid. As soon of my uncle heard that I needed medication he left to the pharmacy to get me the pills. I took the pills as Carlos directed, but I remained the same.
my new friendsmy new friendsmy new friends

jennifer, jonathan, and I...people i met in san andres
Sunday morning my uncle came with internal cleansing pills, because perhaps I had some sort of bacteria from the food. So I took the cleansing pills. Unfortunately these pills are a sort of a laxative. And my frequent visits to the toilet became more frequent. Nonetheless Sunday our last day in Medellin we stayed home. At night we had Beatriz, Carlos, my cousins, and uncle came to visit us. Beatriz came with a birthday cake for my mom so that we could sing happy birthday since it hadn’t been done. Carlos came with a booklet of his infamous jokes…that I do not understand. My uncle (who had no clue who I was) came completely high…fun… and my cousin’s came simply happy to see us. They all left around 11, leaving me 4 hours to sleep.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

happy birthdayhappy birthday
happy birthday

beatriz and the b-day cake
My uncleMy uncle
My uncle

The one that had no idea who i was, or what my name was :-P


22nd August 2007

The water.
I guess you drank the water. Or the ice cubes. Who knows? I don't even know if that stuff about the water applies to Columbia or not. I am so sorry that you have gotten sick. I really hope that you get better soon. I enjoyed reading all of the entries to your journal. It seems like you are having a very exciting time there. It has to be nice to go and see your roots. I tell you, after this year you can write a book about all of your travels, and the do's and don'ts. I hope you feel better soon Eli. Nathan

Tot: 0.463s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb