International (except in the US) labor day


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Los Llanos
May 1st 2014
Published: May 2nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today was a holiday. I am told that Colombia is one of the countries with the most holidays in the world. It is weird for me that it is on a Thursday since normally holidays get moved to Fridays or Mondays in order to create a long weekend, but honestly, I'm not complaining. It was a welcome break. Living in another language is hard. I have a newfound respect for all of my international friends living in the US. At the end of the day, my brain is tired of trying to come up with the right words and my tongue is tired of trying to pronounce things without sounding like a gringa. Hopefully that feeling passes after a while though. Hopefully after this experience not only my clinical skills but my Spanish will be better too!



I found a gym today. 25$ / month, no air conditioning, one tiny shower (presumably with no hot water) and no toilet paper. I was sold. Tomorrow I will get analyzed by a personal trainer in a different language and they will tell me how to not gain 20 lbs eating all the delicious food here. I'm finally starting to settle in, hopefully these blog posts will get a little more interesting.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0754s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb