Colombia - Dancing in Bogota


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
October 14th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Salsa Bogotana 142 secs
After my tour around South West Colombia I returned to Bogota to visit Angela and to do some more Salsa classes. As I had found a good Salsa teacher I thought it a good opportunity to learn more and I wanted to get to the point where I had mastered it to a usable standard.

My teacher recommended that I make regular videos as feedback of my progress. This is the last video I made, about two weeks in to the lessons. My partner is another student at the school with a similar ability level to me. By this point my posture and the fluidity of movement had improved greatly and I'm quite happy with the progress. Unfortunately, for various reasons I wasn't able to shoot another video before finishing the classes. I had improved my style and mastered a number of fancy lifts and falls, and wanted to make a record of all the different moves I had learnt. Nevertheless, the video shows at least 10 different steps, which took many hours of constant repetition to get to that fluidity, several new Cuban style turns, several falls, and a couple of lifts.

Colombian style Salsa takes many years to master to competition level, but I now know enough to be able to hold my own in the nightclubs of Latin America. As a side effect I also lost quite a bit of weight - the benefit of high intensity training at high altitude.

Advertisement



12th November 2010

Look at you!
Wow! That looks awesome! Well done Lukey. xxx
12th November 2010

salsa
good skills maye, i'm impressed but smile dude!!!!!
12th November 2010

Impresionante!
Wish I had something similar to show from my time in Cali and Medellin. Just another reason why I have to go back! Thanks for sharing, Tracy
12th November 2010

Blimey Lukey, is that you? Excellente, hope you're gonna teach me some more when you get home (not the falls and lifts I hasten to add). Fantastic progress since your first video inCuba. xx
12th November 2010

That's entertainment!
Wow. You almost had me fooled with that Colombian body double of yours in the video, Luke. What gave it away was there were no close-ups of your face. That and the part when your double twirls the girl in the air a la Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers. Great video, though! Here's another dance instruction video for your enjoyment: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BNR74UCidBI
20th November 2010

fucking awsome mate. you've got the moves.
1st December 2010

Nice - good job! That looks quite complex! You've definitely improved a lot since you started...
6th February 2011

you got da riddum
fluid dynamic dubstepz skywalker
27th February 2011

Just had another look at your video Luke. Very impressed at your progress, the footwork looks really hard. Hope you can make another one when you start classes again in Cuba. Amazing!! xxx

Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb