Golden Moments


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
February 16th 2010
Published: February 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

A scary statueA scary statueA scary statue

Should have been more careful recording the descriptions! But my favouite photo of the day, anyway!
I've just been out for lunch and a coffee with a guy called Dan - I think that's his name. He's been travelling around south america for 6 months or so and he's heading off to Ecuador tomorrow...or is it Peru? I forget. Anyway, it's fun talking to these guys and picking up tips on where people have been and where they've stayed and what not.

We tried to get into the Museo Botero but it was closed - as it seems all museums in Bogotá are on a Tuesday! Doh! Anyway, it came over all cloudy and we just about made it back to the hostal before it started raining. Not complaing though - looks like the pattern of weather is sunny and warm until about 2 and then cloud over and rain. But it's warm and it's a real joy to be able to walk around in shirt sleeves and not be cold. All of this introduction being a long way of saying that, because it's raining, I thought that it would be a good opportunity to bring you up to speed on the days events.

Firstly, I confess, I lied. Not all museums are closed on
Parque SantanderParque SantanderParque Santander

The view from the Museo del Oro
a Tuesday. The most famous one (Museo del Oro - or Gold Musem) was open. I visited it this morning. There are some really impressive pieces in there and I'm really pleased that I went. It cost 3.000 COP (about a pound) to get in. I took a bunch of pics but not all of them turned out so well since the pieces are typically behind glass and there was a lot of reflection. Anyway, I've posted up a few to give you a feel for the place. Sorry, I don't remember what any of these pieces actually are. There's a lesson to be learned here, I think! And no prizes for guessing that the first picture isn't actually gold - but it's a piece in the museum and I like the photo so I wanted to put it first!

The last photo is a strange one. I was just walking up the street and saw a bunch of people in bright clothing making some noise. I looked more closely and there was a live turkey hanging upside down from the wooden structure that you see in the photo. There appeared to be a "game" where the smallest of
A Golden ShellA Golden ShellA Golden Shell

This looks super impressive in the flesh (so to speak)
the children would jump up and try to rip feathers from the turkey. Every time they got some feathers, the crowd cheered. Honestly, it wasn't pleasant to watch and I didn't stick around to see how it ended. Guess I'm a bit squeamish when it comes to that sort of thing.

Ah, lunch today was Bandeja Paisa - I had one in the UK but this one was much better...still WAY too much for me to eat, though.

OK, that's been my day so far. It's only 1715 so not sure what else I'll get up to today. But whatever it is, you can be sure to hear about it tomorrow!

PS: Sorry if these posts are a bit haphazard - I'm suffering a bit from jet lag and it's actually quite an effort to stay awake at the moment!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Some more gold #1Some more gold #1
Some more gold #1

I like the way that these are exhibited - it's like they're floating. You don't really get the full effect from the photo!
A Golden MaskA Golden Mask
A Golden Mask

Another nice shot
Turkey beatersTurkey beaters
Turkey beaters

Intersting but not fun to watch


17th February 2010

fab
tastico.. I love It baby! :-)
18th February 2010

Welcome to Bogota!
Great to hear you landed okay Chris. I am following your blog with great interest. It's really good isn't it. You are all those miles away, and yet we can hear from you and see your pictures quickly. I am going to enjoy my trip around South America with you, but do take care. All my love and best wishes. Elaine

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0606s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb