Bogota - the land of coffee and beautiful people!


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
February 5th 2009
Published: February 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Bogota!! I have finally arrived. Well I got here 2 days ago. I know I am on this trip to experience different cultures and ways of life but after nearly a month of travelling through Bolivia and Peru it really is nice to be back in a place with real coffee, cash machines that work and cafes and shops and yes - even museums.

I´m staying at a hostel called Cranky Crok in an area called La Candelleria. This is kind of the studenty, funky, arty part of Bogota.

It was a luxury to get on a plane again as the last flight I caught was from Iguazu to BA. It was a little bit of a shock to realise that my backpack is now 5k heavier than before. Think I may need to do some shipping from Europe as there is definitely a lot more things I will want to buy.

Bogota is definitely a weekend place. I arrived on a monday and there really is not much to do at all in terms of night life on Sundays or Mondays so after a bit of wondering around with some new found friends we decided to stay in at the hostel but stayed up talking (what I am sure was very intelligent conversation!) until about 7am when we had to go to bed as others were getting up for breakfast.

I then spent the whole of the next day in bed but am rationalising this as being ok as I have got achillies tendonitis (found out today from a very expensive doctor) from the Inca Trail and must also still have needed the rest from the gruelling 5 days trekking.

Bogota is a great place. The streets are full of little cafes and funky shops. The police are everywhere! I really have not seen so many in any other place but I guess that is what has helped to make Bogota so much of a safer place.

I visited an art museum today and spent a few hours taking in some SA artists as well as some Picasso and Renoit etc. Maybe I will become cultured in my old age after all.

Will be leaving tomorrow for Medellin where the climate is supposed to be spring like and sunny. Here in Bogota it is pretty cold as we are still at a high
Another street scene in BogotaAnother street scene in BogotaAnother street scene in Bogota

The police are everywhere
altitude.

I am very much in the need of sunshine and looking forward to eventually getting to the carrabean coast for some beach and hammock time!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

A PicassoA Picasso
A Picasso

Proof I actually was at a museum
One of my favouritesOne of my favourites
One of my favourites

Hmm...I really liked this artist for some reason......
The Mona LisaThe Mona Lisa
The Mona Lisa

This artist seems to like people of the larger varierty


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb