More and More Museums


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
January 3rd 2009
Published: January 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The days are slowing down, which isn't a bad thing considering that I leave in a week. I don't understand how time can go by so quickly and so slowly at the same time. Perception is an odd thing; I guess it really is all relative.

So today, we hung out at the house until after lunch. Diego's aunt and uncle and I'm assuming his cousins came by, and we all ate lunch together. It's always awkward meeting more of his family, but his aunt seemed really nice. We had a traditional soup called ajiaco, which contained chicken, corn, peas, and I think they were potatoes. Rice and a big slice of avocado were on the side. I put way to much salt on the avocado and made it harder to eat than without any salt at all. Afterward, Diego and snuck off to the God museum, and I played the new Kanye West album for him in the car. It has been a while since I had listened to it, so it got me all pumped up, haha. I'm not a huge museum fan, unless it's under the right conditions., but the gold museum was pretty interesting. For some reason I was expecting large golden idols to greet me at the end, but all I found were more figurines lurking around every corner. Not to say I was disappointed, I merely had the wrong impression.

The museum was in the historical district, so we walked over to the Plaza de Bolivar, and I went into the cathedral I had neglected on my first visit. Talk about gorgeous; don't judge this book by its cover. It made me reminisce about my French trip back in high school and touring the Vatican. It was an extremely hot, long day back then, but I appreciate the memories more now. After trying to capture some of the beauty with my camera, Diego took me to two other smaller, but free-er museums in the area. The first was a currency museum that we more or less only shuffled through. The second was an art museum. Now this was more up my alley. The main exhibit was for a famous artist from the area named Botero. Apparently he had a fetish for fat people. Weird I know, nonetheless, the man's got talent. ranging from sculpture to painting.

The secondary exhibit consisted of Botero's personal collection. This was fascinating because he had all the big names. Two Picasso's, Chagall, Renoir, Monet, and even Francis Bacon adorned the walls. I didn't dare take a picture here. The final gallery we toured was a modern art exhibit. There were some decent pieces. One oddity that sticks out in my neurons is what looked to be a blanket woven together from nooses.

We finally exited the museum, that much more cultured, and politely pushed our way through the growing crowd back to the car. On the way home we stopped at a Carrefour, which is Spanish for Walmart. Not really, but it might as well be. I grabbed some local chocolate bars to give people back home who either didn't request a specific gift or I forgot when getting gifts, haha. I also grabbed a new Postobon soda; this one pink. Flavored with apple, it was delicious. Hopefully, this soda kick will not become a habit. Because we only drink bottled water, I can't drink as much as I do when I'm home. I can feel my dehydration soaking into my muscles because I'm used to guzzling so much water. Thus I look forward to arriving home and pounding a few cold ones.

Dinner and a movie tonight. Arepas and Tropic Thunder, classic. I didn't realize ow much cursing that movie had. That's the problem with our faulty memories, we only remember what suits us. Oh, something that suited me today, well it pretty much made my day: while scoping out a market place right next door to the gold museum, I found a gift that is really going to earn me some major brownie points when I return. I really didn't think I was going to find it either.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb