Settling down in Bogota


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
August 8th 2008
Published: August 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's noon on a friday afternoon and out the window of my room I see about ten highrise apartments and three more being built. This is a growing city, as the population pushes higher than eight million people the growth pushes north and west away from the mountains. Small towns are absorbed into the metropolis and they become historic neighbourhoods with expensive restaraunts and trendy stores. In the centre there is alot to interest a person curious of Colombia's deep history; museums, galleries and historic buildings. Also there are six universites churning out a well educated generation of young Bogotans. In the past two weeks I think I've met more chemical, civil, and stuctural engineers than I have in the rest of my life not to mention the architects, dentists, and translators who speak four fluent languages. Today I would normaly be taking my seventh two hour spanish lesson but my teacher is out of town for the weekend. In a bit I'll catch the transmilenio into the center of the city, which takes forty five mintutes, to see the thesis presentation of a friend.

It's close to the equator here but not very hot, the hottest ever recorded was
the new palacio de justicathe new palacio de justicathe new palacio de justica

the old one was destroyed in 1985
twenty eight degrees and the lowest minus eight. It cools off at night but it's not cold enough that people heat their homes so you have to wear a sweater. When going out it's best to bring sunglasses and an umbrella because the weather changes quick. The altitude is just over twenty six hundred metres and you are reminded of this when you have to walk a few flights of stairs. All in all it's a good city, they have everything you could want to do and I've been lucky to be able to stay with some very hospitable people.

I've been in Colombia now for about seven weeks which is alot longer than any other country. I had planned to be in Brazil and Venezuela by now but there are some problems with my Brazilian visa and the political situation in Venezuala with chavez right now is all pear shaped. And besides, I realy like Colombia, so why not spend some more time here and see as much as possible. Countries aren't just something you can pass through and tick off a list, they take time to get to know. And once I prove to the Brazillian embassy that I have an onward ticket and enough funds to get me back out of Brazil, and once the Venezuelans get their act together maybe I'll leave this place. But for now I'm quite happy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb