Long awaited pictures.....I'm using someone else's computer!


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
January 26th 2008
Published: January 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Home...for the first few daysHome...for the first few daysHome...for the first few days

This is where I stayed for my first few days in Colombia.
My roommates took off this weekend to go play in a mountain lake, and I'm left here alone. It's okay. First, I really didn't need to spend the money to go there, when in two weeks we are going there for free on a teachers retreat. Second, two people are coming down this weekend. One of my roommates is coming back, and then a good friend of us Judson guys is coming to stay for a while....like a couple months while. Its another amigo to hang out with, help on rent and help sub some of my classes. Also, we had our maid come for the first time today. I know! Sounds very bourgeouis, but five guys living in an apartment is not a good start for cleanliness. Plus, its worth $15 American dollars a week to not have our apartment smell like 'dude'. Plus she does our laundry, will cook for us once a week and makes our beds. It's like having a Mom watching over us!

Well, since the roomies are gone, I have access to their computers...which means I should be able to post pictures. My poor laptop just doesn't have the power to perform this simplest
Streets of Bogota...Streets of Bogota...Streets of Bogota...

A quaint little side street in Bogota...where apparently a number of people have been assassinated.
of tasks. I'm amazed that the iBook is still running after all these years. Well, lets see what kind of pictures we can post....


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Andes...Andes...
Andes...

So beautiful....but every time I look at them, I want a mint....
Steepled skyline...Steepled skyline...
Steepled skyline...

There are old churches lining the cities horizon.
Beauty...Beauty...
Beauty...

It's hard to come to terms with such great natural beauty, and man made poverty.
A new beginning..A new beginning..
A new beginning..

This park used to be a major dumping ground for bodies during the 'drug wars'. Now its a major city park....where we did street missions.
Hidden rubble..Hidden rubble..
Hidden rubble..

The city tries to hide so much of the poverty, but its always there....
Street kids...Street kids...
Street kids...

After trying to deliver a Sunday School lesson in broken spanish, I took out the camera and started taking pictures.
Dirty...Dirty...
Dirty...

People live in this....so sad.
More kids..More kids..
More kids..

Parents were literally putting kids into my lap to take a picture. It's probably the only time they'll have their picture taken.
Reunited...Reunited...
Reunited...

Oh Liz...we went to Judson together, now we are working together at El Camino in Colombia....
So beautiful...So beautiful...
So beautiful...

This was an abandoned house in Suesca....the sunset and shadow make such amazing scenes.
The view from school...The view from school...
The view from school...

This is the front yard of El Camino Academy.....quite a view!
Teachers Office...Teachers Office...
Teachers Office...

This is where I hang out, eat lunch, plan lessons, hide from students....and sleep.
My right hand man...My right hand man...
My right hand man...

This is Rodrigo. He is one of my seniors, editor on my yearbook staff, driver, translator and he takes me to get street food at places that should be closed for health code violations.
Service DayService Day
Service Day

We bussed in kids from the inner city Bogota schools to visit and play at our school.
Handsome Devil!Handsome Devil!
Handsome Devil!

What a great looking missionary/teacher!
Doorways...Doorways...
Doorways...

The 'old' building at school is like an old-fashioned hacienda....
My yearbook staff..My yearbook staff..
My yearbook staff..

I was assigned to be the yearbook advisor. It's more work than the rest of my classes combined. Thank goodness for my kids!
Ahhh...Ahhh...
Ahhh...

These cute Bogota kids have nothing at their school, so when they came to our school they loved our science lab...and the science goggles!
Mean old Mr. Z...Mean old Mr. Z...
Mean old Mr. Z...

I try to be a toughie, but my kids see right through it!
Islands of greenIslands of green
Islands of green

For these kids of the concrete jungle, our school is one of the only places for them to play and be safe.
Great kids...Great kids...
Great kids...

Our students at ECA are the best.
Worship serviceWorship service
Worship service

We had our visiting Bogota kids join in on some worship songs...
Little Angels...Little Angels...
Little Angels...

Tenth grade girls showed the kids how to make origami frogs...which quickly led to paper frog racing...
Good kids...Good kids...
Good kids...

Some of our ECA finest. Hopefully this girl Pami will be going to Judson next year!


4th February 2008

i love the pictures. love them!

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb