Chile


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile
May 1st 2014
Published: May 6th 2014
Edit Blog Post


Fortuitous festivities in the big city
My stay in Chile was all but brief. I found work doing research at a hostel in Santiago and so naturally began to settle in. For a whole three months. For having a population of six million, Santiago is a surprisingly anonymous city. From the Tokyo-style rush hour subway traffic to the time-travel properties of said trains moving between Las Condes and Estación Central (Santiago is one the most socio-economically segregated cities in the world), not to mention the stark difference in ethnicity apparent within these; something about this city just reads "off". It is also one of the most severely polluted cities in the world, which should come as no surprise seeing as the whole of Chile seems to reside within its walls. Regardless, during my stay here I also had the chance to go on excursions to some less hectic and congested areas of the country. In the southern lake district I was serenaded by an orchestra of frogs on a nightly basis under the by-far most impressive night sky I have ever witnessed. I also made a trip to the bohemian city that is Valparaíso (or "home" as I like to call it). Words fail me when describing
this place as its charm lies in its unique vibe and the sense that one is in fact inside a living painting. Even after tsunamis and crazy fires I struggled to fight the urge to go back, but before long it was time for me to leave Chile and, following the sun, to make my way back up to Peru.


Additional photos below
Photos: 103, Displayed: 23


Advertisement





Traditional regional dances










Typical church


Super charming super tiny park



Summit of the park



Typical colonial building


Valparaíso



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0954s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb