Chile


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile
May 3rd 2006
Published: May 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well it is now the start of May and I´m in Rio .. and I´m getting so behind on writing this damn blog.

I spent 8 days in Santiago before Mum & Dad arrived. I went to school for the week and also went out to visit Vina Ventisquero vineyards a couple of hours out of Santiago. I used to sell the Ventisquero wines when i was in HK. They sent a driver to collect me .. then the chief winemaker took me round the vineyards, and then we sat and tried about 10 of their wines before lunch. I had a really nice day out there. At the weekend I visited Isla De Maipo where they were having their vendimia (harvest celebration) .. and tried a few wines and then went for a tour round De Martino vineyards.

Mum & Dad arrived in Santiago on 10th April. We spent a couple of nights in santiago, then down to visit some more vineyards, then to Vina del Mar .. which is on the coast about 1 1/2 hours from Santiago. We had a nice day at Valparaiso and Vina Del Mar before heading back to Santiago for another night.

Next stop was Puerto Varas for a couple of nights. We flew down to Puerto Montt from Santiago and then went to Puerto Varas. Puerto Varas is set on a beautiful lake .. with two volcanoes towering over them. Volcano Osorno looks like Mount Fuji in Japna .. it´s perfectly shaped with a snow capped peak. One day we went up the volcano and you get incredible views ove the surrounding countryside. After 2 nights in Puerto Varas we took the 3 lake crossing (3 boats and a couple of buses) across to Bariloche in Argentina.

Seemed to spend a lot of time eating and drinking with Mum & dad .. so my month of healthiness in Ecuador flew well and truely out of the window! I enjoyed Chile .. but was really, really looking forward to Argentina!

3rd April -Santiago ....

I arrived in Chile this morning after an overnight flight from Quito. I´d hardly slept and was looking forward to getting into bed at my hostel .. except when I got to my hostel there was noone up to let me in!! It was 6 in the morning. I found another hotel nearby and crashed out.

This afternoon I moved into the hostel that I had booked and then went for a wander round Santiago. In fact I´m absolutely knackered after walking round for abour 3 or 4 hours. Santiago seems OK. Its nothing special as a city. It´s got some nice colonial buildings and lots of grim modern buildings too. It´s got some nice parks and plenty of decent restaurants. I went to a nice restaurant late this afternoon for a late lunch/early dinner. As I hadn´t been drinking for a month .. after 1 beer and 1 glass of wine I felt quite merry!! My spanish definitely improved after the wine!! Tomorrow I start at a language school here for a week.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Hairdo of the holidayHairdo of the holiday
Hairdo of the holiday

Not windy then....
With the familyWith the family
With the family

On our way to Argentina
VineyardsVineyards
Vineyards

yawn .. nice wines though!!!


4th May 2006

what is up
hiiiiiiii

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb