A world wind tour


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile
August 26th 2010
Published: September 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Thornwood castleThornwood castleThornwood castle

how cool is this??
On Wednesday August 25, I left the big town of Ovalle for Santiago. When I booked my trip originally, I bought a ticket back to the USA for Lindsey and Phil’s wedding (and also an exit strategy) in case I did not like Chile. Needless to say, I am enjoying my time here and decided not to return home because I quit my job and gave up my apartment and cell phone so I have no real obligations at home. I flew from Santiago Thursday night. The flight wasn’t bad. We arrived in Texas at 6am, I found my connecting flight, and landed in Seattle 40 minutes early. I met Andy, Jen, and Tom at the airport. It was great to see Andy after 2 months. We arrived at the hotel, I was feeling dirty and un-showered, so I showered and treated myself to a mani-pedi before going to lunch with Lindsay & Phil and crew. We stayed at the pizza place until it was time to check in to the castle. The castle was in Thornwood and it was gorgeous. It was located in a residential area so seemed a bit out of place, but it was really beautiful. There
quite picturesquequite picturesquequite picturesque

the castle and garden
was a sunken garden, where the wedding took place, on the grounds of the castle and behind the castle there was a lake. Andy and I got to stay in the castle for the weekend. Friday night after the rehearsal we all went out to Super Buffet for dinner. My stomach was confused from all the changes: time zone, food, drink etc, so I had a belly ache by the end of the evening. Andy and I decided to be anti-social because we were so exhausted, so we watched a movie and hung out just the two of us. The next day was the wedding. The weather was perfect, the sun was shining, and all of Lindsey and Phil’s friends and families were there to celebrate the day. It was a beautiful ceremony followed by a cocktail hour on the lawn around the castle and overlooking the lake. The party continued on inside the castle with dinner, speechs and poems. The party continued at a golf club nearby. We got to take a cheese bus to get there, it was pretty cool. At the after party we ate, drank, and danced some more. It was a great time. On Sunday
Practice makes perfectPractice makes perfectPractice makes perfect

rehersal ceremon
we went to Lindsey’s parents house for brunch, which was delicious! We spent Sunday night in Seattle, and went out to eat at one of the restaurants by the water with other people from the wedding. Monday morning was emotional. I got a little taste of the USA, then I had to go back to Chile and leave everyone again. Between the lack of sleep, being slightly hung over, and missing my parents, I did not want to get back on that plane. Some tears later, I got on the plane in Dallas, took my sleeping pill, stretched out on the seats next to me (I had 3), and woke up in Santiago. The ride back to Ovalle was painfully long. All I wanted was a shower and a real bed.
Small piece of advice: DO NO travel from Ovalle to Seattle for the weekend!!!! But on a side note, I am happy I was able to be a part of the wedding!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

the insidethe inside
the inside

living room
Our roomOur room
Our room

Andy looking cute next to the bed
Here comes the bride!Here comes the bride!
Here comes the bride!

lindsey with her pops


Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb