Snowboarding en Los Andes at Portillo Ski Resort


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile
September 22nd 2008
Published: September 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Since the last entry, I have been some really cool places. One of which was our skiing/snowboarding trip in the Andes mountains. We left at 5:30AM and arrived at 9:30AM and had a full day of snow. Portillo is a small ski resort in the middle of the Andes mountains, and basically on the border of Chile and Argentina. The weather was absolutely amazing. I have never had a warmer experience snowboarding. I probably could have spent the whole day with just a long sleeve shirt and pair of pants. No hat, scarf, jacket, or wool socks needed. Just sunglasses. The mountains were not full of people at all, except we were sharing with the US ski team and canada ski team while they were training. The views were indescribable and the photos dont even start to do this place justice. Being so high up and looking around at the scenery that surrounded us was.... WOW. just wow. Everything went really well, except the one time that i was riding down the mountain and tried to slow down and fell on my butt. I was going so fast, and the mountain was so steep, i was sliding down the slope and couldnt stop! Snow was spraying in my face, up my jacket, into my sleeves, and down my socks! It was pretty scary, but I managed to survive. Other than that, we had a really good time 😊

Here is the link to check out the photos!!

http://www.new.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2153949&l=aab63&id=59501397

The next day, we took a 25 hour bus ride to the desert in the north. That will be my next entry... maybe tomorrow.

love crystal



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb