You're killing me, Mayonnaise!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Valparaíso Region » Viña del Mar
September 10th 2011
Published: September 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It’s been quite a while since my last post. Oops. Sorry ☺. Life in Chile has not drastically changed over the last few weeks although the weather is starting to warm up! Nearly every day after classes we head to the beach to play volleyball, take a walk or just sit and talk. Every time I see the waves I think about how blessed I am to live 4 blocks from the sea where God’s omnipotence and sovereignty is so evident!
Caroline and I have been spending nearly every day with the youth from our church. There is usually some sort of activity going on since the majority of our friends don’t have classes due to the student strike. It’s a bummer for them but a bonus for our social lives ☺.
There are many things I have had to get accustomed to here in Chile. One of which is the excessive consumption of mayonnaise in this part of the world. We eat mayonnaise with everything: lettuce, hotdogs, artichokes, chips, french-fries… I’m starting to develop a liking for the stuff. I’m also having to get accustomed to being a failure at nearly everything I do here. The Chilean culture puts emphasis on fútbol, dancing, fútbol, cooking and fútbol…. all of which I cannot do. I am still playing fútbol with the team from my church, which has been a blast, although it has led to some slightly embarrassing moments. Last Saturday Caroline and I went to fútbol practice for the first time. The numbers were around 30 guys and 8 girls. The first drill of the day was designed to work on our agility and quickness. We formed two lines laying on the ground side by side in push-up position with about 1-2 feet in between each person. Just imagine this in your head for me. The drill was a relay race. The person on the far end hops up, runs across all of his or her teammates by stepping in the spaces, and then lays back down on the other side. Now just bare with me here, try to picture this all in your head to get the full effect. It’s my turn. The whistle blows. I hop up. I’m racing against a boy. I’m competitive. We take off. Neck and neck. 1, 2, 3, 4… perfectly placing every step in between the bodies on the ground…5, 6, 7…everything’s going just fiiii….oh. I trip. Rats. Now imagine a slow-motion, Chariots of Fire-worthy frame by frame of what happens next. As I’m falling I manage to step on approximately 3 people, land on 1, and roll over the last, only to land perfectly in my position at the end of the row…groaning in pain. Let’s just say I might have found my new and improved most embarrassing moment ☺.
On a more serious note, I would really appreciate your prayers for my host family. My papá has started coming to church regularly and has joined a small group with the church! What an answer to prayer! I have had some really good talks with my papá about Christ but I often feel inadequate when trying to express what I believe in Spanish. If you all could pray for me and my family that would be much appreciated!
This last week Chile has been hurting as a country. On Friday, September 2nd, a plane carrying 21 passengers disappeared over the ocean. The passengers were members of the TVN team (something like the Today Show or Good Morning America except EVERYONE watches it). They were on their way to a small island off the coast of Chile in order to help rebuild houses damaged by the earthquake. Earlier that morning Nick Vujicic, a Christian speaker, appeared as a guest on the show. He was able to share the Gospel with the team and all of Chile in a clear and powerful way on the show. Little did anyone know that mere hours later all 21 team members on the plane would be killed in a plane crash. Chile is devastated. People have been crying for days. No one knows if any team members accepted Jesus that day but we are all amazed at God’s incredible timing in bring Nick to these people that very day to share the Good News with them.
Well that’s all from Chile. I’ll try to be better about updating ☺. Miss you all! If you get the chance shoot me an email (rwitthuhn13@my.whitworth.edu) or facebook message. I would love to get updates from you all!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb