Some basics of life in Chile


Advertisement
Published: March 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Our balconyOur balconyOur balcony

imagine me. i am actually sitting in the chair on the left as i write this. its night time. and i am looking at the ocean and the lights of valpo across the bay. (the sound of huge waves, a light breeze, and tea....) wish you were here?
Just a few thoughts right now. I'll do another long update when i have more time. For now pensamientos cortitos.

The men are beautifulllllllllllllllllllll. And they know how to dance. All of them like to dance and do it well. So much fun. Like Salsa and what not. Seriously, all the people in Chile are so guapo. Nice to look at

My sister is awesome. I think we're going to get along really well. We have a lot in common and i went out with her and her friends last night and everyone was super nice..

My spanish is pretty fricking good. All the chileans keep telling me this and asking if i've lived in a spanish speaking country or something.

Mom, all those nights of coming home late have prepared me for chile. most of the gringos can't stay up but the chileans stay up till like 4 or 5 am cuz they take a nap until like 9 or 10 and don't actually go to a club until 12 at the earliest. Of course, i can stay up. I have practiced. Its good because alot of the gringos are really unprepared for this culture. They dont' know how much alchohol they can drink so they get really drunk and then they want to go hom early but none of the chileans want to leave. For me, no. I know how to drink so that i am never super drunky. YOu guys don't have to worry about that. I've got it under control. Also, my perception of time is changing very quickly. Its 9 27 and i haven't eaten dinner and thats fine cuz i ate lunch at like 3. Cachai?

Hahaha, cachai es un chilenismo. Chilenismos are chilean slang words that the ppl here LOVE to use. They're soo much fun to say.

Cachai= Do you understand. They say it like we say "Oh it was so fun, RIGHT" they say it ALL THE TIME.
Fome= Boring. But also anything that you don't like.
Pololo= Boyfriend. Really fun to say. Try it. pololo. I swear, all Chilean girls have pololos. El pololo de mi hermana is very guapo and very nice and fun. He said i am like his step sister cuz i am the sister of his polola. Haha.
Guagua= Baby. cute, right? or cute, cachai?
-po= They say po after everything. Sipo instead of Si, Maspo instead of mas. It doesn't mean anything. They jsut like saying it. I think it has to do with Valpo (Vthey call Valparaiso, Valpo)

I know there are so many more. But i've only been here for a week.

UMMM, yep. I guess i jsut want to assure all of you that i feeel very safe here and very well taken care of. My family is amazing. Chileans are really cool people, the culture was basically made for me, hahaha. So far, i haven't had a single worry.

That's all. Much love. Oh also, don't write me comments on this stupid blog. i can see that a few of u have written comments but i can't see them until they get reviewed and apparently thats a very slow process.

If you have a comment, i don't know, you can email me at jeni242@hotmail.com

Also, i think if you subscribe to my blog you'll get emails when i update it. just a thought. i'm not really sure how this works but whatever.

HAha, this ended up being pretty long. But i'm so relaxed. I'm sitting on my balcony, its beautiful
La SebastianaLa SebastianaLa Sebastiana

One of the famous houses of writer Pablo Neruda. IT's in Valpo and we went with the program. WE weren't alowed to take pictures of the inside which is so sad cuz he has so much awesome art and stuff. This place was beautiful. I want to go back cuz i didn't get enough time there.
outisde and i'm looking at the ocean and all the lights of the houses in Valpo across the bay. Valpo is really hilly so the lights go up the hillls. Beautiful. I wish my digital camera had a flash so i could show you. Ill figure out a way to show you all.

NOW I'M REALLY DONE. hahaha. much love. email me if you have anytyhing to say


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Me and CaliMe and Cali
Me and Cali

Ella es una chica buena. Me gusta ella.
At Cafe JournalAt Cafe Journal
At Cafe Journal

a bar with a dance floor on the bottom and a really chill upstairs that's outside where its quiet and u can talk
Ashely and DiegoAshely and Diego
Ashely and Diego

Diego is the brother of one of the CIEE boys. Superfun.
Gringas y Felipe (hermano de una gringa de CIEE)Gringas y Felipe (hermano de una gringa de CIEE)
Gringas y Felipe (hermano de una gringa de CIEE)

gringo = white pppl. not a bad word tho. just the word for white ppl. Felipe is a great dancer. We went to a club with him and some of his friends. He's very helpful with buses and everything. The guys are just so nice here. They always want to help and its not in a way that they think they deserve something in return. El Machismo
Sarah's awesome tooSarah's awesome too
Sarah's awesome too

I stole all these pictures of Cafe Journal from Sarah's facebook.
Pisco SourPisco Sour
Pisco Sour

Alot of the gringos from CIEE went to Cafe Journal this night. I think usually i won't be in such a big group of gringos but it was the first night we went out so it was almost all of us and alot of the hermanos y hermanas of the particpantes.


Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0146s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb