Getting settled in..


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Valparaíso Region » Viña del Mar
September 10th 2008
Published: September 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I've been in Vina del Mar for a week and a half now and getting used to it. Class has been going really well. Our teacher Jenny is really good and we all have been learning a lot.

Claudia (my host mom) and I have become closer, she is super super nice. She is only 10 years older than me, so we actually have a lot in common. Its really nice to live with her, she teaches me a lot. Today, she invited a couple of my american friends over for a Chilean lunch. I live across the street from 3 american girls in my program. They are really nice and becoming my close friends here.

Since I live one block away from the ocean, the last couple evenings i have been walking down to the beach and watching the sunset. It is absolutely amazing. Living in MN, you dont really get to see this ever. I've taken about 982349478 photos of it. i'll post them all.

Tomorrow I am going snowboarding in the Andes Mountains. I'm really excited!!! We get out of class, leave at 6am, and have a full day there. I'll let ya know how it goes...

All next week is a big holiday for Chile. Wednesday is their Independence day... so therefore, we have the entire week off classes. Us girls are trying to plan a trip for this weekend and beginning of the week. We are thinking of exploring Northern Chile. I hear its beautiful there. Our plan is to return by Wednesday, the big day. The whole country puts everything on hold and its one huge party. They tell us that we cant miss it.

We have been taking Cueca dance classes. Cueca is the traditional dance of Chile. By now, we are getting pretty good at it. Its a partner dance and you wave around a panuela (a little hanker-chief type thing), and do some slick foot movements. We will be ready to show off our moves by next Wednesday.

Futbol (soccer) is huge here, just like in most south american countries. Chile had a big game last week against Brazil. Since Brazil is the best team in the entire world, Chile didnt win. Tonight they play Colombia... we'll see what happens..

The nightlife here is pretty hoppin. I've only been here for one weekend, but they usually go out around 1ish, and doesnt end until after 5am. With a nap until 10pm, its not too hard to get used to.

Thats a quick update of my life in Vina so far! I hope everything is going well for everyone at home. Send me some messages with some updates from the North!!!!

love crystal


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.037s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb