The boyfriend!!! yes, he is chilean and no I am not living here forever


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Valparaíso Region » Viña del Mar
February 15th 2007
Published: February 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Carlos and I in October of 2006 Carlos and I in October of 2006 Carlos and I in October of 2006

This is a photo taken in one of my favorite placed in Valparaiso. Its called Jota Cruz. It is this tiny, whole-in-the wall joint down a sketchy alley. It serves the best churrillana (french fries tops with different types of meat sauteed in onions and topped with a fried egg).

The boyfriend!!! yes, he is chilean and no I am not living here forever

 South America » Chile » Vina del Mar » Viña del Mar By Bowmen16
February 15th 2007
Tori Lynn Scott
For those who have not heard, I have found myself a prince charming, way south of the globe in Chile. Carlos and I met in June of last year. I was the lonely, pathetic gringa at a church group get-together in Santiago. I went with my church from Viña to their sister church in Santiago. Carlos and I met and were friends. I, from the very moment I had decided to come to Chile, said I WILL NEVER date a latin american guy let alone marry one. Well, lets just say that these guys are vey persistant. After I dont know how many ¨no´s ¨ I got tired and agreed to date...nothing more. Here I am almost a year later and I am still with him and we are more than just dating! 😊 He is a wonderful Christian man who loves me more than I can imagine. He treats me great and my independent, feisty, gringo mentality keeps him on his toes. I loev him and he makes me happy. I hope that some day you all can meet
End of the year WorldTeach partyEnd of the year WorldTeach partyEnd of the year WorldTeach party

We had a goodbye party at a ¨clandestino¨ bar, where you knock and have to give a password. It was very James Bondish. fun!
him. (If the US would just give him a tourist visa!!!...we´re still trying!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Carlos at my send-off at the airport in Dec. 06Carlos at my send-off at the airport in Dec. 06
Carlos at my send-off at the airport in Dec. 06

This is before my long trip home for Christmas. I left 10am on Sunday from Santiago and after layovers in Panama y a night stay in Los Angelos, I arrived in Sherwood, OR at my parents hiouse at 2pm on Monday!!! Home sweet home. There is nothing like it. Although I did miss Chile and Carlos; I even cried when I left. I am not as tough as I put on.
Our 2nd meeting....still didn´t like himOur 2nd meeting....still didn´t like him
Our 2nd meeting....still didn´t like him

To be brutally honest, there was absolutely no interest or attraction on my part for about the first 3 months. Funny how things change! :)
Mendoza, Argentina and the All you Can Eat Buffet legend.Mendoza, Argentina and the All you Can Eat Buffet legend.
Mendoza, Argentina and the All you Can Eat Buffet legend.

5 plates later and Carlos is still smiling (the indigestion hasn´t set in yet!)
On the bus...againOn the bus...again
On the bus...again

This is a photo from God-knows where. We were on the road for so many hours that I don´t know where this was taken. All I know was I was tired and too lazy to put in my contacts. But a great vacation together!
The gandola ride The gandola ride
The gandola ride

We rode a gandola (teleferica) to the top of a mountain in Bariloche, Argentina. From teh top you can see over nto Chile. It was a beautiful, cold day.
at the beach in Viña at sunsetat the beach in Viña at sunset
at the beach in Viña at sunset

Awwwwhh!! How romantic :)
Carlos at the Botanical GardensCarlos at the Botanical Gardens
Carlos at the Botanical Gardens

We often take picnic/hikes in the botanical gardens here in Viña. It is a little bit of a respit from the city life that I am not used too.
Carlos...again :) I cant get enough of him!Carlos...again :) I cant get enough of him!
Carlos...again :) I cant get enough of him!

This is my attempt at an artsy photo.
Quintero, ChileQuintero, Chile
Quintero, Chile

Quintero is a small beach town simliar to maybe Rockaway on the Oregon Coast. It is small, laid-back, and relaxing. Carlos and his family have vacationed here every year for the last 30 years. They even rent from the same guy! I was lucky enough to crash the party for a few days this past year!


Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb