The Wellington of Chile


Advertisement
Published: March 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Thursday the 24th I flew into Chile and upon reccommendation from some Chileans I mean in the Mount headed straight for Valparaiso a town an hour and a half out of Santiago. Said to be the Wellington of Chile I was presented with houses piled up on hillsides overlooking the harbour. Unfortunately when I arrived at my hostel I was told that a girl there had had her bag stolen from inside the hostel while she was cooking dinner. This put an immediate dampner on the city itself and I just felt rather unsafe.

I did however venture out and discover that the city was a fantastic collection of colour both in the houses and the graffiti (I think I could already full an entire photo album just of the graffiti pictures I have taken.) I visited the cemetary with a couple of canadian guys enjoyed a full day walking around the hills of the city the following ending with a cable car trip (yup its all very like Welly!)

After this I headed to back to Santiago where after a nightmare with having thrown away a tourist visa slip that I didn´t know I had to keep (this involved visits to the police station which was actually rather entertaining as we all tried to understand each other in pigeon english and spanish, then a call to the NZ embassy and a bit of running around at the airport to get another slip) I was able to enjoy a night out with a couple of girls I met at the hostel and we saw a really cool blues band. These 2 guys played the harmonica like I have never heard before it was just awesome!

Then off up north to the desert and San Pedro de Atacama!

Photos at the link below. x

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=272286&id=594416894&l=4b5ea2ddb5


Advertisement



3rd March 2011

Loving your blog!
Hi Kate, your experiences so far sound wonderful. It must be so amazing to see something new and spectacular every day. From your descriptions and photos I can see it is a magnifcently colourful place. Very cheerful indeed. So you have already managed to go to a police station... at least you got that outta the way early on. take care and keep us updated with all your fab adventures!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb