Shanty Central


Advertisement
Published: July 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Same Gay guy from the night before and girl mates cooking drunk at 4am is not the best banter, but I guess you have to expect this in Hostels. Well it was the end of our stay in Santiago, so we packed and headed for the cool roof terrace for a planning sesh. I gave some free drinks tokens to the middle aged ozzi guy we met at breakfast (loved it-typical ozzi).

I had finished my book "A piece of Cake" changed for F. Scott Fitzgerald "This side of paradise" a slightly harder as "War and Peace" looked a bit too formidable. After planning I left Gem to arrange the next hostel and I headed out to get stamps and thread. On route a guy on trike with toffee apples cruised on by (wish I had a camera) it was hilarious. The post office proved fun and games as I forgot my phrase book, but I got there in the end although I did end up with a full sheet of stamps. Found a tiny old shop, with the oldest of ladies in, and again sign language proved excellent for communicating my need for thread...

Rosboss nuts still going strong, and staving off any hunger. Student passes once again on the Metro, gotta love my old matriculation card. We ended up getting off a stop too early and stumbled through a huge market selling everything. I spotted jeans for less than a fiver! Made it to the bus station and jumped on Turbus (what a great name for a bus company). On route I listened to dubbed 24, Jack Bauer answers the phone the same way...



Advertisement



Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1907s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb