Flying Solo


Advertisement
Published: April 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

As of Monday, I was flying solo on trip for my first time since leaving home back in February. Quite nervous, it is a very different experience to go at it alone. As a towsome you always know you have your travel back up some one to turn to for a query or problem if needed. Whether it may be to complete a broken phrase in spanish to the hostel front desk, catch the amount of a grocery bill or spot you on a round of drinks. Feeling slightly lost I decieded to head out to the town of Valpariso, 2 hours west of Santiago. Lonely planet described it as a town contarsted by manly ports and feminine hills, kudos to them on another beautiful aliteration!
Upon my arrival I was slightly dishearted as the weather had returned to its overcast somber cloudiness and I quickly second guessed my decision to flee sunny Santiago. I checked into my hostel and briefed through the tour guide once more before hitting the streets. At which point it also came to my attentiuon, under the "Danger and Annoyance" section that Valpariso should only be seen in a group and women should not go out after dusk. Well, that gave me a solid 2 hours to wander so I was out the door as fast as my hiking boots would carry me. Another thing about travelling alone is the passage of time, what I consider a 2 hr stroll untimately turns out to be a meer 20 minutes. Fearing the setting sun I returned to my room sat on my bed and wandered what to do with myself...felling a little over zealous and with nothing the fear but fear itself I headed back to catch the sunset over the city.
The really unique part of this particular city is the "feminine hills", which are covered in residences connected through winding streets up steep terrain. To solve the issue of tiring climbs up to ones home each day the city installed elevator-escalator contraptions through the different neighbourhoods. Known as ascensors, it gives the city neighbourhoods this whole snakes and ladders kind of feel as there is no aparent pattern to the curved roads and elevators that jump you up thorugh the houses. I took my first ride the followng day and was amazed the rickety 70s contraptions hadnt given up on these feminine hill as collapse into the manly port below.
By sunlight I settled into my solo experience and had a great day wandering the town, I also caught the commuter train a mere 15 minute jaunt to the neighbouring town of Vina del Mar. Known as the Garden City, its claim to fame is its massive sea side mansions built as retreats for weekending Santiagians. I think if Miami and Rio de Janiero had kids Vina del Mar is what you would end up with.
The following morning I commuted back to Santiago and hoped a 24 hour bus over to Buenos Aries. All in All while this whole solo experience has been very travel enhancing there is still nothing better than kicking back with a beer and your best friend at the end of the day!
As a PS. my fear was not totally unfounded as our friend Roxanne, whom we had met back in Puerto Natales had had her entire backpack stolen! I meeting up with her tomorrow for some tea and sympathy, aka. beer and hots springs.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0834s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb