Semester's end


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region
April 26th 2011
Published: April 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The end of the semester is upon us. It is final’s week, yet I feel indifferent about my current situation. Never has final’s week felt so low-key. This past weekend was Easter, which entailed no school on Friday. Thursday I went to the club for the first time in Santiago. Although I am glad it went I stand by my original word that I am not a club person. I left at roughly 3:45am, and did not return home until 5:00am. However, I was probably one of the first people to end the night. I went out again on Friday night to the bars and later a club. Again I got back home at roughly five in the morning. Yes, this is calling a night early in Chile.

Two nights in a row was enough for me. I took Saturday off. I had barbeque with my family instead. Sunday all us gringos had a barbeque in the park. We played a game of soccer with a few of our Chilean friends. Last night we had a group dinner for USAC. A lot of us headed out for the bars afterwards despite it being the Monday of final’s week. After the first bar I went home. I was alone in this choice. All my other twenty-some-odd friends continued bar hopping.

Even though I arrived home at “only” 1:45am I missed my first class today. I did not care in the slightest that I missed class. Even my professor did not care as she met my in the halls to handed me my paper after class. Apparently only four of eleven had showed up. Two of those four had stayed out three hours later than I did last night.

Exam number one of two is tomorrow. It is currently 7:00pm. I have yet to start my homework or study. I probably will do little of both tonight. I am completely over school at this point. I still try to learn Spanish, but as far as class work goes I could care less. The last day of classes is Thursday. After that we will all begin to part ways. I do not leave until Sunday, an inconvenience, because that means I have to hang around Santiago for a few extra days. However, that is the price I pay for flying with LAN Airlines, and having them change my flight date.

As I mentioned I feel indifferent as of late. I should be excited to go travel, or at the least get done with school. But nothing seems to get me going. I think it does not yet seem real. How could the semester already be over? It seems as though we have just began. I feel fortunate to be staying for an extra two months. If I was not I would probably be regretting only studying abroad for a semester. But I am content with the way things have worked out for me. I had a good experience during the semester here in Santiago. I still have sufficient time to travel the continent, and I will return to the states with a job all lined up for me.

I cannot place my finger on why I am feeling the way that I am. Perhaps it is because I know that everybody I know is soon going to part ways. I am not super close with anyone I have met this semester so I do not think it will be that hard to say goodbye. However, it is nice to have those familiar faces around when in a foreign land. Whatever the reason may be for my indifference, I assume that once I step on that plane headed for Easter Island I will leave this feeling behind. You would think that I would be thinking that Sunday cannot come fast enough, but as of now I do not care one way or another. When it does arrive it will be a nice change. Until then I can enjoy what life has to give me, appreciate the friends I have made, do some studying, and make my final preparations for my trip.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb