Santiago


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
December 10th 2016
Published: December 29th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Sorry I am super late on the blog posts, I will try to catch up !
Santiago is a big city and it even has a tube which was very handy!! It is real pretty and I was lucky to meet up with Belen who I know from her boyfriend (a uni friend Matt) so we had met in London a few times. She was nice to show me around and even invited me to her family pre Christmas cocktail evening ! We visited the house of Pablo Neruda together and hadn't lunch in the Bellavista area where all the bars and restaurants are.
The next days when she had to work, i did a walking tour of the city where I met a few other travellers, we visited the market and the cemetery as these places teach a lot about local culture. How hard these people work in the market and the religious segregation that still occurs in the cemetery. It is such a huge cemetery that at the entrance of it, there's a screen announcing the arrivals, delays etc exactly like an airport!! At the end of the tour, I had lunch in the market with the travelers I
IMG_4278IMG_4278IMG_4278

La Moneda, presidential residence, also historical building that was bombed during the coup d'état of 1973
befriended and we then had a walk and rest in a park together.
On my last day I met up with Belen again and one of the girls I had met on the walking tour called Nathalie. We walked up the Cerro Cristobal which gives a great view on the city!!
Belen is such a kind hearted person and she made this experience incredible for me!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

IMG_4308IMG_4308
IMG_4308

Cerro Cristobal with Belen and Nathalie
IMG_4298IMG_4298
IMG_4298

Huge cemetery
IMG_4301IMG_4301
IMG_4301

Salvador Allende, president who died during the coup d'état of 1973.
IMG_4270IMG_4270
IMG_4270

At the house of pablo Neruda with Belen


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb