Baby's First Flight!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
February 22nd 2012
Published: February 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Santiago ChileSantiago ChileSantiago Chile

Santiago Chile
Hello all!

I just now arrived in Santiago, Chile! The flight out of Dallas took about 10 hours. Oh my goodness, it's amazing that my parents and I didn't get lost when they were dropping me off at the DFW airport. It's HUGE! We went to terminal D where apparently all of the international flights take place. My mom asked a guy if he could take my bags. Thank goodness because they were super heavy. He said "I'll take care of your daughter if she takes care of me". It took me a minute before I finally realized that he meant a tip! I hugged my parents like crazy and entered the airport.

This was my first flight ever. After showing my passport and turning in my luggage, I headed to the security check. It wasn't half as bad as people make it out to be and it was very quick. Maybe because it was a night flight. They had me take off my shoes and stand with my hands on my head as they did a body X-ray. I did a silly dance and pumped my arms. Couldn't help myself, I was that excited. Then after that some lady oddly patted the back of my head! Haha! Apparently new-fangled criminals try to stash drugs in their hair. Who would think it!? Well, after the body check, the only thing left to do was wait to board the plane in the airport terminal. It was incredible. They had TGI Fridays, Blue Mesa, McDonalds, and even a chocolate store in there! After wolfing down some crappy, over-priced chicken nuggets from McDonalds (Yeah. $3.50!) I waited to board the plane. Yes, this was definitely "Baby's first flight". I didn´t even know that there is an order to boarding a plane. I was in the 4th and last group (but didn't know it), and kept going up to the guy trying to get on the plane with the wrong group! It was hilarious looking back on it. He probably thought I was a little nuts.

Once on the plane I started freaking out. It wasn't a small plane by any means and I'm not claustrophobic at all, but looking at the hard plastic walls with tiny windows made me feel like I was in some death contraption! I could just see the horror of plunging into the dark ocean and being giant squid food! Maybe I've watched one too many "I Shouldn't Be Alive" episodes. So anyway, I did what any grown lady would do. I called Mommy and Daddy! They told me God has me and I started to calm down. Because God sponsored my trip, it was highly unlikely that I would go plunging into the depths of the ocean! My dad also recommended a margarita. Gotta love him. Haha!

Long story short, I ended up sitting next to a very nice Chilean girl named Camile who spoke perfect English and is my age. She had spent the last 2 months working at a ski resort with Americans and other international students for her summer break. We chatted and laughed the whole time. She also helped me fill out the immigration forms, directed me through the airport, helped me with my luggage, and walked me to my hotel! Thank goodness she was there because I could hardly understand the Chileans who spoke to me in the airport. I can already tell a difference between Mexican and Chilean Spanish. Chileans speak extremely fast and use a few different words. I'm sure I'll adjust though. I wonder if all Chileans are this nice. Great start so far! Me and Camile exchanged Facebooks and she said she might come visit me in Valpo.

This is quite the experience. I've never truly been out of the country before save a cruise where my mom and I spent one day in the Grand Cayman Islands and another in Cozumel, Mexico. I've never been apart from my mom for more than a week my whole life, my whole 23 years of life. Now here I am in South America where I know no one, no one speaks English, about to go to a foreign university, and about to live with a family for over 4 months. A family I've never met and who don't speak English. Crazy? Maybe. Exciting? Heck yes! Can't wait to see what's in store for me. In the meantime, I need to get off this hotel lobby computer and go exchange my thick, black coat for some shorts and shades. It's 90 degrees outside and I'm probably lookin' a fool in here!

¡Hasta pronto!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Claro!Claro!
Claro!

Very popular in Chile.
View from my window.View from my window.
View from my window.

Behind the hotel. Airport parking.


Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb