Cumpleanos Deigo.


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
February 20th 2012
Published: February 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

South America Getaway


santiagosantiagosantiago

my Chilean friends
Hostel al Patagonco peurto natales draft. workin title. Cumpleanos Deigo.reading..che guevara motorclye diaries. missing PG tips so went for a stroll around the city and ended the day at a birthday party in a downtown bar. the people in this city are great. travellerw freindly and locals warm in hospitality. spent the day saying some farewells to those I had got to know on friday and then went in search of an ATM and to retrace the steps of Che Guevara in his book. There is a photo taken by him of his friend Alberto and others in a park called Santa Lucia, in the cetre of Santiago. The book is an excellent read and I finished it on the plane. I have now given it to a few traveller Ralph from Berlin. His favorite film is the Big Lebowski, so is an ok chap by me and its one less thing to carry.It recounts the tale of Che and his friend Alberto riding a motorcycle , the Poderosa, around SA visiting leper colonies as doctors. I am following part of that route (Santiago to machu piccu). so armed with a mappa de Santiago, sun cream, and credit card went for
SantiagoSantiagoSantiago

big flag to prove I am here and not hidden in a warehouse somewhere like capricorn 1
a stroll. lovely day, saw an army band march past a really splendid looking building with the biggest flag flying I think i have ever seen flapping around at the front. The band reminded me of Nick, my son, who used to drum in a the Army cadets and now has joined the army himself. So had a look at the cultutal centre underneath but the builing upstairs was closed off. Hundreds a police everywhere and security tight. I decided to enquire what the building was for and asked a passer by in my best spanish what was all the fuss about. "This is the presidential palace, para El Presidenti!!" was the curt response. note to self...find a better map.Eventually found the park and the spot where the photograph was taken by Che Guevara of his friends. Did the same. Many brazilians around at the moment. Of the ones I have spoken to, without exception they are all here to escape the carnivals in Rio de Janerio, Sao Paulo and the other cities. . I guess like the winter carnival in Bridgewater, it looses its charm after a while and wears a little thin on the local populous. so, having
santiagosantiagosantiago

Terramoto!!
done all the other toutist bits, (catherdrals, museums etc) found a bar for a well earned cerveza and was introduded to a drink called "Terramoto" (earthquake). allow me to explain.Guy outside in the shade having a cigarete drinking a strange brew: "que es?" and pointed. drank with him and his friends arrived. They spoke no english so it really was spanish all the way. but we all communicated well. terramoto is a stange brew, three types of liquor in a pint glass with a large dolop of ice cream and straws. "one is good, but three and its fall over time" they explained. suffice to say it all went messy from there. I ended up lambasting an American man who called his wife as his "life partner". I thought this a very cruel thing to say, especially as she was stood next to him at the time and was quite lovely. So he had both barrells from me, as by now the terramoto was taking hold. I think I said, "Life partner?, this is your wife for fucks sake!!" They moved away shortly after. Then was speaking to two chilean woman. they were both social workers. Janett y Pauline. Janett from up north on her vacaciones and her amiga pauline who lives in Santiago. sat at a table, a young american woman walked past (Rebecca) and asked if she would take our photo. good decsion disco. she speaks amazing spanish and was waiting for her firends to celebarte a birthday. I invited her to sit with us as she was unsure what the birthday boy looked like ( facebook invite through amigo). So, more terramoto flowed and the birthday party turn up. All aged around 25, to celeberate Diegos cumpleanos. There being nowhere for them to sit I invited them to our table and then it was party all the way. Singing "cumpleanos to you" to the birthday song was surreal, but we were determined to outsing a table of woman, also celeberating a birthday on a nearly table. those that know me well can probably imagine it. the only thing missing was a fancy dress outfit. But they all gave me great information for my travels, including local breweries where I will be, an really amazing little know beach in the north etc. I have been told I sank about 10 terrmotos during the day and a couple of cerveza to finish the night. quite how I made it to the hostal I am not sure, but the cuty being buit on a grid system my homing skills took over. So, sunday, I met up with pauline and janett again. They have been helpful with my learning spanish and in return I have helped them with their english skills. "Quid pro quo" . spent a lovely domingo (sunday) with them sat in a park and they have given me more information for my travels. I will meet with them again as I pass though the country. so tomorrow I am off to start the travelling proper. Three days to settle in but its time to leave the city for a three hour flight to the bottom of the continent, Teirra del Feugo. adios y me gusta la trabajo

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 53; dbt: 0.063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb