Part 1: "The adventure's not in the destination itself... but how one gets to the destination.... now that... that is the adventure" -unknown "WHATEVER" - Candice.


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
May 26th 2006
Published: June 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Despite leaving everything to the last minute, there was a relaxing calmness that set in, a calmness that can only be achieved through travelling experience. As any well travelled person would know: from the moment you leave the safe confines and creature comforts of home, you are subject to the typicals of travel lore- where plans fly out the window, itineries are non existent, lost baggage, thieves, crazy taxi drivers and nasty check in staff; things that are completely out of your control.

For awhile there everything was going smoothly- mum and dad were safely away on their flight to New Zealand via Sydney and there I was, in the murderously long check in queue- praying all the while that the mean looking woman on counter 10 wasn’t my check-in lady.
“Ding Ding- Next Please- Counter 10.” ---not to worry, just smile and maybe she’ll be friendly. HAHAHAHA.---
She looks blankly at my ticket and says, “This is a one way ticket to Santiago, Chile.”
---I smile, “Yes”---
“Well you can’t travel internationally on a one-way ticket.”
---“Oh that’s okay, I have another ticket onto Lima, Perú- that’s an internet ticket.”---
*tap tap tap*on the computer, “I’m sorry,” she says, (and I’m sure there’s an evil little glint in her eyes) “But I can’t let you travel on a one-way ticket, you’re going to have to buy a return ticket.”
That relaxing calmness I was talking about? Well, that disappeared without a second glance backwards. Buy a return ticket my ass- I had covered all my basis, I knew what I was doing and this half wit check-in wench was obviously looking for some innocent girl (like myself) to bring down: all because she was having a bad day.

So what now? I didn’t have the funds to purchase a return ticket- parents had already left the country… well… I did as any true Carroll would- the bottom lip started to tremble and I burst into tears. *WATER WORKS ON* now, in the past this has worked wonders- I’ve had bus tickets reissued after losing it, even though the conditions said that tickets were irreplaceable if lost or stolen; or maybe the incident with the policeman driving me to my hostel because I didn’t have any money and my atm card wasn’t working. On all occasions the water works had proved to be a dependable weapon of choice.

This…. Typically…. Was not going to be one of those occasions. The stone-hearted cow just looked at me, “Why are you crying?”

Right, *WATER WORKS OFF*
---“I’m going to Perú, I’m getting married in a weeks time, my parents are already on their way there. My tickets are fine. I need to be on that plane.”--- Well, that’s how I sounded in my head, it came out in a more of a spluttering blubber way.

The old cow disappeared and left me standing there for ½ an hour- coming back she informed me she was letting me on the flight, but for me to be prepared for problems along the way
And the cream on the cake? My bags were over limit- it was a right old sight, me, in the middle of the international check in counter repacking my bags. Thankfully, I learnt early on in my travels (albeit the embarrassing way) that underwear was best kept together in an underwear bag. No wild flying g-strings this time!!!

Got to the gate with only a leisurely half hour wait- well it would’ve been if my flight wasn’t delayed by an hour. Ahh the joyous wonders of travel. There was no way I was going to make my connecting flight in New Zealand, thankfully, there was no way that 30 other people were going to make the same connecting flights either; so they kindly held the flight and it was with overwhelming relief that I boarded the plane in New Zealand and was greeted with the relieved looking faces of mum and dad. Some people say that the “getting” to the destination is the adventure in itself- and in most cases I’d agree; but right now- I’d give anything just to be in Perú.


Candice. xxoo


Advertisement



23rd June 2006

Hola
Hola Candicita, Come stais?? Hehe ive been practicing!!! Why dont you email me?? NIce blog by the way..... specially the crying part, u shuldve filmed it that wouldve been so funny!!! LOve u and miss u love always Ashleighxoxoxox P.S say hi to ur Huzzy for me!!!
23rd June 2006

my favourite Aussie bird
Ah, the joyous wonders of travel we know only too well. Have you been getting my e-mails, xxx.
1st August 2006

weddings
Hi ya Des. Great pictures. So a married woman now eh? Do i now call you Mrs Des and stop any slightly risque e-mails ? Keep the blog going, its a good old read. Keep smiling my favourite Aussie bird, Chris,xxx.

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 36; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb