Final day in Santiago before meeting up with my tour!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
July 21st 2010
Published: July 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well I couldn´t have asked for a better final day in Santiago...

I met up with my Brazilian buddy and we headed to a wine tour at Concha y Toro which is the largest exporter of Chilean wines. The harvest finishes in March so we couldn´t see any of the leafy vines but we strolled around the acreage and learned about the history of the family who brought all of the vines back from France. We even had a tour of their famour cellar...Castillo del Diablo...which only held the wine that was reserved for their family so it was the best of the best! We splurged for the wine tasting paired with cheeses (which was definitely worth it!). We tried 4 different reserves and each was paired with different cheeses, nuts, and breads...I tried to remember it all but there was so much information and we were having such a great time just enjoying the ambiance.

After I said good-bye to my Brazilian friends I headed out for dinner with a Canadian that I had met in San Pedro who lives in Santiago. We met some of her friends for dinner in Providencia which is a trendy restaurant and lounge district. It was really nice to chill with ´locals´and hear about their time in this city. I cannot wait to learn spanish when I get back so that I will be fluent for my next trip down here!!

The next morning I met up with my GAP tour - our group has 11 people and everyone is very cool. We have people from England, Ireland, Belgium, The Netherlands, Puerto Rico, Australia...and Canada! I´m excited to head down south with them for some winter sports action 😊 Our first stop is Pucon which is considered to be the adventure sports centre of Chile 😉 LOVE IT!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb