Santiago


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
June 21st 2008
Published: July 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well you´re in for a treat I´ve been hard at work for the last two days in numerous internet cafe´s creating new blogs. Santiago is the first city I visited in South America after departing New Zealand on 17th June. That day was the longest in history lasting approximately 36 hours! I left Auckland at 5pm after spending a full day wondering around and ended up in Santiago at 1.00pm the same day and went out sightseeing until I finally crashed out around 7.30pm after watching a few episodes of Nighty Night series 2. Santiago is very much like a European city surrounded by huge mountains and in that sense was not what I was expecting so was glad I´d only scheduled in 2 days. I had no guide book so took a map from the Forestal hostel where I was staying and wondered aimlessly until I came across the cable car park which goes all the way up the mountain with great views of the smoggy city. Most of the pictures were taken from here. The next day I went to a few museums and visited the fish market and had some local fish with veggies and rice. It was another early night ( 8.00pm the jet lag was a killer!!) before bed and the next day I was up at 5.00am to get a taxi to the airport and the flight to Ecuador.......


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



12th July 2008

Hello
How did the cable car compare to the Cliff Lift in Southend?!

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0942s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb