The Xmas Miracle


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
December 26th 2006
Published: December 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Chilean people do wonderful things. They make great ice cream, run a nice metro, make even better wine, and turn in lost passports to embassies. After fretting all weekend about getting a replacement, I contacted my Uncle Bruce (who works for the state department) for a little guidance. We spent some time on the phone going over everything that I needed. New passport photos, about $80, and to get there early to beat the crowd. I thanked him for his help, wished him a merry xmas and hung up the phone. My next move was to call the local Chilean guy that worked at the US Embassy who had helped me on Friday. He told me to call him Monday night. So I call him up and he says, ¨Marc, I have been waiting for you to call me. I tried finding you all weekend, and couldn´t find the number to the hostel you gave me. Anyways, some nice Chilean man found your passport in the bus station and turned it in to us". Not only did he turn in my passport, but he turned in my cash, my bank card, my yellow vaccination booklet...everything. PERHAPS THE LUCKIEST THING I COULD HAVE HOPED FOR.

So after spending the weekend at the beach in Viña del Mar, which was fun, I am waking up to meet my new best friend, Tony Vazquez, at 8:30 am to reclaim my lost items. Pending all goes well, we should be boarding a bus to Mendoza, Argentina tomorrow afternoon.

Lucky as hell to say the least...

p.s. Hope everyone had a nice weekend!!!

Advertisement



26th December 2006

Best friend Tony
Tony may decide to tag along!!! You have your own version of "Miracle on 34th Street"- Be safe and have fun. Love, Ginger
26th December 2006

Sounds like Karma to me
WOW! That's a sign of good Karma, my friend (F christmas-miracle..ha, j/k). I love these journal postings... I can just sense what an amazing experience you are having, lost-passport ordeal and all... That's all a part of the adventure =). Man, I wish I was there traveling with you. ENJOY every moment of being completely FREE and EXPOSED. Happy Channukah and New Year! Safe travels and much love, Nicole

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0704s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb