Will Good-bye's Ever Get Easy?


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
June 16th 2005
Published: June 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

"Don't be dismayed by good-byes. A farewell is necessary before you can meet again. And meeting again, after moments or lifetimes, is certain for those who are friends."

I came to Santiago on Monday night to spend time with Emi for her last couple of days in Chile. She was more emotional before the trip to the airport, which was quite the opposite of what I was expecting. Monday we kept it quite tranquil and just hung out at the casa since I got in a little later than planned. Emi and I just did the girl catch up talk once I got there and then went to bed early. I woke up at about 9am Tuesday with the sounds of sirens and the thought of me being in a fire. Apparently I thought that I was sleeping in my bed in Vina where there is a window to the right of my bed. However, to the right of my bed was a blue-gray wall that reminded me of smoke upon waking up to the sounds of sirens. Let’s just say I freaked out for a minute. Emi and I went out on the town for some last minute shopping for the friends and family at Santa Lucia Feria and the ped mall before making our way back to the apartment. Since this was the last night for Emi, we went out for dinner at a Mexican restaurant that happened to be throwing a going away fiesta for Emi that we just didn't know about until we got there. SUPRISE! During dinner, we grew a greater understanding as to why people from other countries find gringos to be loud and obnoxious. We witnessed that from the outside looking in since there was a table full of gringos sitting across the room who were being quite loud and obnoxious. After the Mexican Restaurant we headed to Bar Central for some vino and traigos. As Emi, Dave and I were enjoying our nice bottle of vino (that wasn’t Los Mariados) Emi and I anxiously anticipated Sammy's arrival to see that Chilean hair cut that he got before Emi's departure. It was clearly a Chilean style, and it suits him awkwardly well. After a few drinks, it was time for us to head home and give the Champaign toast to Emi's departure made by the Davester just before bed. That toast marked the last night in Santiago for Emi. But remember Emi...."I love you man!!” Wednesday, Emi's departure day, I was awakened by the princess herself. It was hitting that she was leaving, so in saying that we had a little pillow talk before starting our day. It was a little awkward because I didn't want her to leave, but at the same time knew exactly when the day was coming. Time flew by and then it was time to accompany her to the airport. Once getting there we had dinner together in the airport of which Emi said she wished she liked condiments to dip her French fries in. "It's the motion that soothes me". After dinner we then made our short yet sweet goodbyes before watching her walk away. I knew that she needed someone to be strong for her, so I held it together quite well even though I was tearing up while she was telling me briefly that she was going to miss me but this wasn't goodbye. She made it clear that she wanted the goodbyes to be short and then for us to just leave. So, that's what we did. It was a quite moment on the way back to the apartment, but knowing the friendship I created with Emi that wasn't goodbye- yet it was "until next time".


Advertisement



18th June 2005

Goodbye's are Hard!
Yes Mandy dear, they are hard. No, they don't ever get easier. It is hard to say goodbye but I know deep down that you and Emi will be together once again. It is awesome that the two of you have created such a special friendship and it's even better that her mom lives so close to us. (Here back in the States) Well girl, just look forward to the next time you see her and how often you can talk to her once you're back in the States. Love you bunches and can't wait until you come home. XOXO
18th June 2005

Thank you Texas
Miss Amanda (my Texas girl), Thank you again for being strong when I couldn't be. Our farewell is a blur but I know this...I couldn't have got through it without there despite how hard it was to say goodbye. Again, I'm sorry for ordering you both out of the airport but you know my deal wtih long goodbyes. I hid behind that truck while you were both walking out but after waiting awhile I still searched through the crowd hoping you were still there for one last hug. You just followed by last request too well, I guess! Love you Texas and I will see you again soon! -Your MN-TX girl

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb