TRIP TO CHILE 2018 - Pueblito los Dominicos


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
December 1st 2018
Published: December 11th 2018
Edit Blog Post

My last day in Chile arrived too soon.

My flight was not until almost 10 PM that evening, but with airport security being what it is these days, I wanted to make sure I observed the three hours in advance requirement. That meant being limited as to where to go in the time I had left.

The perfect solution, a return visit to Pueblito los Dominicos, my favorite craft shopping area, not only for the goods that can be found, but also for how pretty and quaint it is.

It's also a destination that is easy to reach from where I was staying. On a Saturday, the Metro is not as crowded as on week days. The Pueblito stop is the last stop on the Metro line that is just a few blocks from the apartment, so returning is also easy since the returning train is empty at that point.

There was also a little treat when we arrived. There was a "Feria" going on in the park across the street. It is what we would call a Farmer's Market, and there were multiple stalls of fruits and vegetables, as well as food being sold.

I was awed by the size of the asparagus! One spear of theirs equals about three here in the US.

But I refrained from taking pictures to avoid the possibility of being swarmed with offers of fresh vegetables. I have not forgotten the India experience! LOL

We finally arrived at Pueblito los Dominicos and delighted in walking down its narrow alleyways lined with quaint shops, filled with hand made goods that end at the center plaza with its cute cafĂ© ... with the incongruent umbrellas protecting the tables from the sun. 😊 But I overlook that detail, the look is close enough to an old village to satisfy me.

I was very happy to find a pretty pair or copper and lapis lazuli earrings. During one of my last visits I had bought a pair, but I lost one. I particularly wanted this combination because Chile is a big producer of copper, and one of only a couple of countries that produces lapis lazuli.

Afterwards, we decided to forego eating out for lunch at home, and entertained myself watching the golf tournament across the street.

Alas, time to depart for the airport arrived all too soon and the return trip was fairly non eventful.

Another amazing trip to Chile was over, and all that's left is to dream for another visit and more beauty to discover.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Pueblito los DominicosPueblito los Dominicos
Pueblito los Dominicos

The quaint "Plaza" in the center.
Pueblito los DominicosPueblito los Dominicos
Pueblito los Dominicos

Aw! I hate to leave. Until next time!
Golf Club Los LeonesGolf Club Los Leones
Golf Club Los Leones

Watching the golf tournament from the balcony.


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb