Moving around in Santiago


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Ñuñoa
July 1st 2008
Published: July 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Some church in SantiagoSome church in SantiagoSome church in Santiago

A picture from our bus tour. I don't remember details.
I started classes today. My schedule could not be sweeter, unless the days here were longer. The sun sets about 615 or 630, so it gets dark fairly early. I have Latin American History MW 3-5 and Chile's Native Cultures of the South TH 3-5. I never have to wake up early!
Word on the street is that some students are taking over a building tonight and there will be some protests tomorrow. For those of you who don't know, students in Santiago have been protesting the education system, I think because they lack the basic supplies they need for learning, like books, etc. The police have been using sewage water and tear gas to deter the students. I've not yet witnessed any of this, but apparently it got pretty violent last week when we were in the desert. I'll keep you posted with what I know.
Saturday I didn't get to sleep in, even though I was pooped from last week's activities. We had orientation to the program starting at 930a. Afterwards, Colleen and I explored Plaza Ñuñoa, the main plaza in our neighborhood. We bought bip! cards and took our first ride on the Metro. We met some of the other kids at Los Leones and hung out at a restaurant/hookah bar. Radiotaxi home.
Sunday we went to el Museo de Bellas Artes, a small art museum downtown. It was beautiful. We walked around, exploring Plaza de Armas and Huerfanos, a pedestrian street, both populated with all sorts of street performers. My favorite was a troupe of boys, ages 11 to 18, probably, who were playing one-man drum sets on their backs. It reminded me of Mary Poppins, and if I see them again, I will give them some pesos. Probably $1000, which is about $2 USD. This morning I slept in, since my schedule allows it. Then met up with some other students, actually a lot of other students, for lunch, which put me in a siesta mood during class. I did not fall alseep, however, so it was a success.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

......
...

Yeah. That's what I said too.
StatueStatue
Statue

Pretty epic, isn't it?
SkateboardersSkateboarders
Skateboarders

A bunch of kids skateboarded down the middle of the street, waving flags and yelling. Not sure why.
MapucheMapuche
Mapuche

A tribute to the Mapuche people, Chile's fiercest indigenous group, found in Plaza de Armas.
ChurchChurch
Church

A church or cathedral at Plaza de Armas, with all sorts of heroes buried inside. It's ornate and beautiful. I don't remember any of the people.
Hare KrishnaHare Krishna
Hare Krishna

A bunch of Hare Krishnas danced and sang their way across Plaza de Armas. They gave out heart-shaped cookies, but not to me.
Robotic TechnotronicRobotic Technotronic
Robotic Technotronic

Awesome. I want it.


Tot: 0.298s; Tpl: 0.047s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb