Chiloé Escape


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Los Lagos » Chiloé Island
March 5th 2008
Published: March 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Church of Castro Church of Castro Church of Castro

This is a fine example of Chiloe's wooden architecture.
I went to the island of Chiloé (Chee-low-ay) hoping to find few tourists, peace, quiet, and time to read, write and meditate. Well, I certainly found it. After a 17 hour bus ride, I arrived to an island with beautiful landscapes and quiet seaside villages.

As soon as I got there, I wandered around the city of Castro, Chiloé´s largest city. The island is known for its culture of wooden architecture, especially its churches. I visited Castro´s church and was very impressed how beautiful it was. It was definitely unique.

Since I was alone, I had an amazing amount of liberty and was quite indecisive as to what to do. I knew that I wanted to accomplish a little sightseeing while finding places to relax throughout the journey. I decided to head to the least visited island off the coast of Chiloé, the island of Lemuy. I read that the sleepy island had very few tourists and even fewer attractions... it was right up my alley.

After a bus ride, a stop in the village of Chonchi, another bus, a ferry, and lunch at the home of a nice lady who helped direct me to the island, I
RelaaaaaaaaaaxRelaaaaaaaaaaxRelaaaaaaaaaax

This was taken when I experience the moment of most relaxation it my entire lifetime. It occurred when I reflected upon my stressful life in Ann Arbor when I would be in the midst of exams. You too could probably use a vacation, I highly recommend it!
ended up at an ¨hospedaje¨ which is like a room inside someone´s house. I ended up watching the sunset, totally escaped, and wrote letters to a few friends and family members. It was just what I had been looking for.

The rest of the weekend was similar to this. I made my way to various villages, seeing the sights and getting a sense of the culture. The pace of life is much slower there, and I had a lot of time to reflect, read, and relax. I think I became the most relaxed I´ve ever been in my entire life.

On a side note, I was also constantly looking for a place that served clam chowder, my favorite soup! Fishing is a major industry on the island, and there are restaurants everywhere serving fresh, delicious salmon and shellfish. Unfortunately, chowder is not a Chilean dish and I could not find it anywhere! I hope to visit the east coast in the states sometime in the future with the principal goal of satisfying my chowder desires. (E: I´m remembering the future!)

After I returned to the city I started class. The university I´m attending is the best in
Apple empanadaApple empanadaApple empanada

My stay at the hospedaje on the Island of Lemuy included a fresh, warm, home-made apple empanada. It was taken out of the oven 5 minutes before this photo, and 6 minutes before entering my mouth!
Chile, and I realized how blessed I am to attend such a nice school back home. For out of state and international students, the tuition at Michigan is 3 times more expensive than it is here, and the highest class in Santiago attend this University, which is the most expensive in the country. It encourages me further to apply to even nicer schools when I eventually pursue my graduate studies.

I also realized that I like being a student, and I like attending class. The student´s life is a very nice life.

My first day of class was quite exciting, and confusing. I didn´t understand the scheduling system, and I didn´t know my way around. But I thoroughly enjoyed being a student at another university.

I am now trying to fall into a normal rhythm of life now. I am starting to think about how I will spend my free time. I hope to begin exercising regularly, pursue some volunteer activities, and begin ballroom dancing again.

I strung together some random clips from Chiloé, enjoy.


VIDEO - Chiloé Escape






Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Pre-sunrise, CastroPre-sunrise, Castro
Pre-sunrise, Castro

I woke up at 5:00 to catch the sunrise.
Sunrise, CastroSunrise, Castro
Sunrise, Castro

Two and half hours later, this guy had showed up. It was worth the wait, as they always are. I always like sunrises and sunsets, they really put a single day into perspective.
Sunset, AncudSunset, Ancud
Sunset, Ancud

The same day I caught the sunrise, I caught the sunset on the other side of the island. It's truly a wonderful day when you see the sunrise and the sunset.
Church ofAchaoChurch ofAchao
Church ofAchao

This is another wooden church in the village of Achao on the island of Quinchao.


7th March 2008

Jason, It is nice to see you are having such a great experience over there. It seems more like a vacation than a study abroad =). Anyways, be safe and enjoy the place and culture while you still can! Also, if you have the time, can you post some pictures on what the University over there is like (classes, dorms, etc.)? Thanks!
8th March 2008

Hey Bo
Hey Bo, yeah I'll try to snap a few... I risk looking a bit touristy at the U, but as I always say, I will risk anything for the welfare of the blog.

Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0693s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb