Arrival late night in the cold...Motorbike service


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Coquimbo Region » La Serena
January 9th 2014
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

a short, rather unplanned leg into the colda short, rather unplanned leg into the colda short, rather unplanned leg into the cold

I had to leave Ovalle unexpectively because all rooms are fully booked. I was driving in light clothing as it was rather warm...All clothing was tightly packed and I had to decide...unpacking takes 30 minutes, it will be pitch dark by the time I arrive in La Serena without any room. I decided to just leave...Up I wnt into the mountains I had to cross around 3000m in order to get down into La Serena...close to the 40km/h winds...
Geo: -29.9008, -71.2448

I was arriving in La Serena very late in the evening and it was freezing cold in the summer...Chile...it's the chill that gets you...haha...I was searching for the guesthouse I have goggled on the Internet...Unfortunately fully booked but the lady at the entrance brought me to another guesthouse, which is not advertised on the Internet and therefore not fully booked so I got a nice room with a beautiful yard to relax in the morning (sorry, forgot to make pics)...

In northern Chile you always have to make sure to stay in the cities a bit and relax...Little Oases in the vast bone dry desert that surrounds just about every city and town in northern regions of Chile.

Anyhow, the next day I was fit again and brought my motorbike to the first scheduled service after 1500km...I just wanted to be sure that my motorbike is fit for the upcoming mountain rides that will bring me into 5000+ meters altitude...My almost 30 years abroad turned me away from Germany and I almost very often feel disgust thinking about the stereotypical German...Well, sometimes I do catch myself being a little bit stereotypical German myself...ensuring that my motorbike gets to the scheduled service just as scheduled, the odometer did not go a km over...

Anyway, that's seldom enough to be caught in that...I am a happy German not being German...at all...Period!

La Serena is quite a relaxing town with friendly people...In general I must say the Chileans are quite approachable...I am such a person that approaches just about anyone in the street to hit up a conversation...More often than not I approach the very beautiful opposite sex...Hmmh...Why is that...I don't have any explanation...haha...

I did plan to stay beyond my initial 4 nights, however the women running the guesthouse acted quite weird, even so she did not have any bookings, she did not want me to stay beyond the initially confirmed days...Off I went into the desert again...Next major destination Antofagasta with a night stopover in ghost town...Chanaral


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Cute friends who approached meCute friends who approached me
Cute friends who approached me

Two Chilenas to the left and a Brazilian to the right


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb