On the Streets of Serena


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Coquimbo Region » La Serena
January 28th 2011
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -29.9008, -71.2448

This little man really touched my heart. He's probably 40 or so--a little short guy with flat eyes a body quick and sharp.

I heard his clap clapping to the music a block before I saw them. He dancing and slapping two seas shells to the drum beat of a happy song, his sister standing...watching fondly. She was coating his face with sun block when we walked up and her tenderness towards him drew me to them. I asked if I could take some pictures, Bob tossed in some coins, and I sat on a street side planter to catch the show.

There are a dozen street performers here every day--with drums, flutes, dancing puppets, tambourines, sometimes a whole band, but none of them reached into my heart like this sweet little man and his sister.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb