Weekend in La Serena


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Coquimbo Region » La Serena
November 14th 2010
Published: November 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Disclaimer: my english is feeling slightly incoherent today, but I wanted to get this blog done now while I have internet!

I just spent a WONDERFUL weekend in La Serena, it was absolutely beautiful and I spent some relaxing hours thinking, writing, and talking with my friends and Laura's host family. I arrived thursday night and spent most of Friday lounging around and talking with Tia Susy (Laura's host mom, for those of you who don't know) and then spent the evening at my friend Jovi's apartment. Then on Saturday Pito, Soto and I went to Vicuña and stayed until Sunday afternoon. Tia Susy's mother, sisters and two of Pito's cousins came over for tea Sunday and then Monday morning I hopped on a bus back to Copiapo.

For those of you who didn't follow my sister Laura's blog while she was on exchange in Chile, Vicuña is a beautiful little valley full of vineyards near La Serena where Laura's host grandmother has a house, vineyard and campground. For those of you who did follow her blog (and my earlier blogs) you'll remember her host brother Pito and his band. I first met them in February 2008 when I went to visit Laura, and have remained good friends with them. Sometimes it shocks me how much we've all grown up since we met almost three years ago!

Pito and I went with Soto (the singer) to Vicuña to take a water sample from the river there for a student that worked in the same lab as me in the summer, and we stayed all the night. Saturday night we went into town and met up with an argentinean friend of Soto's who he met playing music in Vicuña a few months earlier. While hanging out at his house playing guitar and singing we heard live music playing at a party somewhere nearby... so of course we had to follow it, and we ended up having a great night and the boys were in heaven with an open stage and borrowed instruments! On sunday we slept in and then lounged around on the grass at the campsite watching over things while Tio Rodrigo (Pito's dad) ran some errands.

What a great weekend!



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Water Sample 1Water Sample 1
Water Sample 1

(one of the students at the lab I was working in during the summer needs some water samples from Northern Chilean rivers)
Water Sample 2Water Sample 2
Water Sample 2

(one of the students at the lab I was working in during the summer needs some water samples from Northern Chilean rivers)
CIMG2213CIMG2213
CIMG2213

The tiny magical door that let us in to the music! It was quite the experience looking for where the music was coming from because when that little door is shut it's completely unnoticeable, but fortunately the Argentinean worked his charm on some people outside and showed us in!
Apple Crisp!!!Apple Crisp!!!
Apple Crisp!!!

Thanks to Laura, Tia Susy knows how to make Apple Crisp!!! yum!


15th November 2010

Horse?
Whose horse? Did Rodrigo or Abuela Myrna get a horse? She (he?) is a beauty!
17th November 2010

re: Horse
noooo I have no idea whose horse that was... she was just tied up outside the gate when we were leaving on sunday...!

Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1222s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb