¡Hola!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Coquimbo Region » La Serena
December 3rd 2006
Published: December 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

CruzCruzCruz

The Cross of the Third Millenium in Coquimbo. Basically it's a huge cross, that you can go up in and see all of La Serena and Coquimbo.
So.....I don't even really know why I have this blog....I have another one which all my friends and family can read and such, but something about this site just....drew me in? jaja, I don't really know if that's the phrase, my English is failing.
anyhoo.
I suppose introductions are in order.
My name is Kelsey.
I'm sweet 16.
I'm from a small town in a small state, good old Rhode Island, USA. I come from a family of five, with two parents, an older brother, and a younger sister, all of whom I love a reaaaal lot. I was always the annoying child who wanted to tag along where ever my parents were going. To the mall...can I come too? The pharmacy...I want to go too! Everywhere. When I was little and would run errands with my mom, I'd actually cry when she told me that our next destination was actually back home. So naturally, the 16 years I spent living in Tiverton was somewhat extremely torturous.
My family took vacations to Canada(Nova Scotia and Newfoundland) and Belize and Guatemala(we stayed just outside of Tikal). And it was then that my love of travel really developed, I suppose.
So it only
ValparaisoValparaisoValparaiso

It's amazing. Voy a vivir allá en una casa de color, te juro.
seemed natural for my dad, who lived for a year in France when he was 16(with distant relatives) to suggest something along the lines of a semester in Chile, which I, stupidly, hadn't realized was a possibility. I knew exchange students existed, but it had never occurred to me to be one.
After a looong process.....that semester in Chile became a year in Argentina, or possibly Uruguay, but finally a year in Chile. And, on August 3 of this year, I left my family, friends, and everything I've ever known behind when I boarded a plane in Logan Airport to leave for my host city of La Serena.
Which is where I am now.
I don't know how exciting this blog will be, but I'll certainly try my best to entertain whoever may have stumbled upon this.
For this year....it would appear that the only travelling I'll be doing will be in Chile, which I'm quite content with seeing as I think I'll get to see most of this crazy cool country. I'm going to the South(Torres del Paine and such) in the end of Jan-beginning of Feb. and up to the north with my host family in March/April-ish. There's
Yo y emuYo y emuYo y emu

An emu at some guy's house just outside of Coquimbo/La Serena.
a possibility that my family will visit me in early-mid July, which means I'll get to see some of Argentina and Bolivia, but if not, then I'll be returning home towards the end of June....and possibly heading to Sweden in July.
I'm not sure yet.
Either way.
If you've found this, and are far more travelled than I am, or live life as a nomad carrying your belongings on your back, know that you're my hero. I have very little concrete goals in life. I have no idea what college I want to go to, what I want to major in, where I want to live, or what I'm going to wear tomorrow. All I know is that I want to speak five languages and see the world, going from place to place living with only what I could manage to fit in my backpack.
and.
I have just bored you all to death.
Anyhoo. I suppose this is quite the boring entry, so I'll be leaving you now. Just...as a warning(or a favor, perhaps) please ignore my horrendous English and über ridiculous spelling mistakes. A bilingual brain is a confusing thing to navigate sometimes.
Chao for now!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb