It's Official...


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Biobío » Yungay
July 19th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm moved in! Today around 6 o'clock I was picked up by my host family and they brought me to my home for the next 5 months in the hills of Valparaiso! I live with a 47 year old art teacher named Emma, her two sons Carlos (22) and Francisco (18), and their dog Pele (although if you ask Emma, she says she has 3 dogs!) Its a small house that we live in but its cozy and very comfortable, plenty of room for everybody. Both of my brothers play guitar and soccer, one is a sociology major at the University of Valparaiso. Tomorrow Francisco is going to give me a little tour of the city and show me how to use the bus system and how to get to Vina del Mar and all that kind of fun stuff that I should know.

The Spanish has been hard, but getting better. Chileans have a very difficult accent to understand, in fact Carlos told me that once you can understand Chilean, you can understand any spanish accent in the world, so thats good for later but makes it pretty tough right now! They all seem very willing to talk to me, so that should help a lot.

Before today, we had been doing some general touring around Santiago. We ate at some nice restaurants and toured the house of the famous poet Pablo Neruda (well, one of his houses at least). I would love to post some pictures of all of this, but unfortunately my camera is broken! AH! I pulled it out of my backpack when I got here and the lens cover is all busted, just like what happened to my sister's. I will somehow get my hands on a camera soon though, so stay tuned through this even though I know that blogs are kinda boring without pictures.

Well, that's about all I've got for now! So long!

Advertisement



17th August 2007

Camera Issues
Breanna dropped her camera in Thailand or Laos shortly after arrival. The LCD broke. The good news...the view finder still worked for her until someone stoled the camera last spring. Hope you were able to replace yours by now. We are going to want to see photos. Love...Nancy

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb