Thanks Hare Krishna


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Atacama
March 1st 2012
Published: March 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Imagen 087Imagen 087Imagen 087

Hare Krishna lunch
Now here comes a moan. Chilean food!! Or rather what is available in the restuarants. I knew it would be difficult for a veggie as it's meat, meat,meat. But didn't expect it to be mainly greasy junk food. At the beginning of this trip I had thought that I may have to switch to a carne diet but seeing the plates on offer was not remotely able to. I had the occassional great meal even one with tofu in Vacuna. But by the time I reach La serena I was very hungry and feeling quite peeved with the situation.

SALVATION!! Govindas a Hare Krisha place to eat, two meals later and a very good market (thanks Phil for finding that) I was tickety boo again. Chilean cheese is excellent when bought from a market and the tomatoes and avocadoes are too die for.

My sprirts also were lifted by the sea (not at La Serena I might add). Phil had told me not to pin my hopes about the seaside, his impression on Chilean beaches so far had not been favourable. We headed to Tongoy on a cloudy day, it felt much like going to the beach at home
Imagen 073Imagen 073Imagen 073

Tongoy on a cloudy morning
and just like at home (sometimes) the sun finally came through. I did enjoy a lovely coastal walk even with rock pools whilst it was cooler. A quick dip in the sea later when it was hot and a pint or two later made a throughly splendid day. ( except the 2 hr journey home with a full bladder, had to stop of in one town to use the bathroom!!)

La Serena what else springs to mind churches (lots of).

Oh yeah and this stone in the muesem from Easter Island. It had been sitting in a park in Arica probably since being pilferred by the Spanish. As the story goes in this park it was being urinated on by those of intoxication and homelessness when it was wanted for an exhibtion in Europe and travelled to Milan and Barcelona where it broke in two bits!! Due to the insurance on this it now has a new and happier home on a plinth in the muesum. Well it amused me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Imagen 082Imagen 082
Imagen 082

Hey the suns out
Imagen 070Imagen 070
Imagen 070

This stone from Easter Island is twice the size of me
Imagen 112Imagen 112
Imagen 112

Japanese garden
Imagen 106Imagen 106
Imagen 106

This ones for my sis Rach


11th March 2012
Imagen 106

Hey Layla! Mum said there was a photo specially for me! So Iv\'e come round to mums to have a nose at your blog and obviously the swan photo. Are they swans? Well if there are I hope you are keeping a diary about there activity towards other birds, for my book. Sorry I didnt get back to you on facebook. I didnt get the message until I had finished work :( I hope everything is good with you! As good as It is with me! I lost a stone! yaay! just one more to go! happy happy! Keep uploading the animal pics! I love em! lots of love always Rachael x

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0672s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb