Mineral Museum, New Years, and my last few days in Copiapó


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Atacama » Copiapó
February 11th 2009
Published: February 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Mineral Museum


James took me to Copiapó's mineral museum! He likes geology and used to spend a lot of time there (and thus knows the museum people well and gets in for free) and decided he had to take me when i told him that my geologist mom would probably kill me if i spent a year living in a town that houses the museum containing the most complete collection of chilean rocks and minerals in all of chile without ever going to see it.
It was actually pretty fun, a lot of really cool looking formations and colorful minerals (I can feel my mom´s glowing pride all the way down here as she reads that im calling a mineral museum "fun" and rock formations "cool"). I recognised some of the names of things and knew what they were in english, and James knew almost all of the minerals and their chemical formulas and whatnot.


New Years


New Years was one big wild party... both at the house with my host family and then Later when I went out dancing with James and a group of my friends!


Last Few Days


well it wasnt my actual last
Mineral MuseumMineral MuseumMineral Museum

fotos of the old mines of Copiapó
few days in Copiapó because at the end of summer break I´ll be back there for three more months... but there are just a few pics of getting together with friends... Adam, by the way for those of you who dont know, is the other US exchange student from my program. He doesnt go to the same school as me, but also lives in Copiapó and we´ve gotten to be really good friends and hang out a lot... also he´s now dating my friend Gigi thanks to my devious ways... bwahaha


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Mineral MuseumMineral Museum
Mineral Museum

...and i looked for a Tamarinium or something but nobody seems to have named a mineral after me yet...
Mineral MuseumMineral Museum
Mineral Museum

Malachite!
Mineral MuseumMineral Museum
Mineral Museum

i enjoyed the name of this one.... crazy Australians! :)
hey look...hey look...
hey look...

theres Kate on webcam!!!
New YearsNew Years
New Years

Tamara, LaPriel and a cousin
New YearsNew Years
New Years

fireworks!
New YearsNew Years
New Years

happy new years! (Pel)
New YearsNew Years
New Years

my host parents
New YearsNew Years
New Years

and then the dancing started... just before James got there to pick me up!
New YearsNew Years
New Years

with Cami
Adam and GigiAdam and Gigi
Adam and Gigi

as you can see chilean street dogs serve many purposes... including foot rests.
Pípe playing pianoPípe playing piano
Pípe playing piano

(kims very musical boyfriend :P )


Tot: 0.199s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0888s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb