Next update (Part 1)


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Atacama » Caldera
April 27th 2009
Published: April 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, it's been awhile since my last entry. I've been keeping very busy with school. I really love this job! Chile is definitely growing on me as well. I think the locals are starting to get used to having a gringo running around their streets as well. I seem to have lost the card-reader for my digital camera's memory card. This means I don't currently have a way of downloading my pictures from my camera to my computer. However, my good friend, Marta (applause) is going to send me a new one. So if you check out my blog solely for the unbelievably amazing, dare I say, breath-taking photos...I'm sorry, you're outta luck for now!

The last two weeks have really been a rollercoaster for me. I was feeling kinda down after getting back from La Serena. I had a blast there; however, I returned and felt like my Spanish was worse than normal and I was having trouble communicating simple ideas with anyone. Classes were frustrating--not because of the students, I have great students, but because I was having a hard time planning for my classes.

To make up for a difficult week I spent last weekend (18/4-19/4)
Cool SculptureCool SculptureCool Sculpture

This sculpture and metal strings stretching between the poles on top and on bottom that made a really cool (though creepy) noise.
at the beach (pics to come). The other volunteer her in Caldera, Joseph, was turning 26 on the 18th and so he and I met Nick, another volunteer from Copiapó (which is about an hour away). We spent Friday night at the beach together which was amazing. The next day Joe's host family came and we had an amazing asado. An asado is basically a barbecue but much better. Choripan (chorizo, or sausage + pan, or bread = choripan) is amazing and you need to try it. Later we went swimming in the ocean. It was my first time actually being completely submersed in the ocean. Oh, if you're ever in the ocean...don't get the water in your mouth. It tastes horrible!

It is now 10:30pm and I have to get up early so I will continue this tomorrow. Hope everyone is well!



Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Vale and IVale and I
Vale and I

Vale is my host mom's half sister. She's 22 and we became close friends quickly.
Host Parents and IHost Parents and I
Host Parents and I

Posing with Glenda and Juan Carlos.
WindyWindy
Windy

It really was quite windy as my hair shows.
Kite/Wind SurfersKite/Wind Surfers
Kite/Wind Surfers

There were TONS of them!
Crossing the Elqui RiverCrossing the Elqui River
Crossing the Elqui River

Heading into Vacuña. It's the largest city in the Elqui Valley (about 40,000 if I remember correctly).
Talking with my handsTalking with my hands
Talking with my hands

I tend to do this a lot. I think I tend to also bore my host dad, Juan Carlos, a lot. :)
Host FamilyHost Family
Host Family

My host brother, Franco, and my...host half aunt, Vale.
Yes, please!Yes, please!
Yes, please!

The wine is quite good in this part of Chile. We were driving through vineyards all day.
Valle ElquiValle Elqui
Valle Elqui

This is my personal favorite though it doesn't begin to show how beautiful it was.


28th April 2009

¡Vaya!
Looking forward to the next blog entry! You have no idea how much I'd love to be there with you!! Hang in there, take care!!
29th April 2009

mmmm ocean water... miss you babe, wish i was there
29th April 2009

i don't know who this is!!!
it came up anonymous so i don't know who it is that misses me! please tell me :)
29th April 2009

I miss you!
I didn't write that first comment, but I miss you too, Zach! I'm glad you're having such a good time. BTW, you don't have a USB cable to transfer the photos straight from your camera? Noob! Please keep writing w/ or w/out the photos, the pictures you verbally paint on this blog are beautiful either way.
30th April 2009

sad no photos
Hey Zach I was saddened to see or should I say not see any pictures, but the text was all great. Hope things are looking better for you now and keep us all updated. I like everyone else miss you too....

Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0729s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb