Oh Chile, oh Chile


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Arica & Parinacota » Arica
May 5th 2012
Published: May 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Oh Chile, oh Chile you captured my heart.

and as I move north, it is hard to depart.

Your people, your mountains, your desert, your coast

You are all rightly proud to stand up and boast.

Oh Patagonia,what land, of stunning beauty

of windswept landscape, and bended tree,

Set sail for los pengiunos but they'd have to wait

Adrift as we were in Magellan strait.


Oh Torres de Paine my breath you took

Determined to trek you by hook or by crook,

Erratic Rock bar with your quizzes and steak

Best bar in Chile, make no mistake.

Oh Navimag ferry news friends were found

As we cruised up the fjords, northward bound

We partied all day and partied all night

The cows in the hold must have had such a fright.
on reflectionon reflectionon reflection

I rather like this place


Oh Punta Varas all German and cakes

Set as you are on the shore of the lake

With Kerina and Andy we cook up a roast

Best dinner by far, said our congenial host.



Oh Chiloe, Chiloe you captured my mind

A more fantastic island one could not find

All witches and worlocks, of legend and myth

Then my passport was stolen, taking the pith.



Oh policemen of Chile, how confusing you are

From pillar to post you sent me afar

From Valdivia to Santiago my boots I did tread

But 'all's well that ends well' as Shakespeare said.

Oh Yann, the French saviour you helped me along

With Andy and family I could not go wrong

And Molly's support from across the high sea

<br
my saviorsmy saviorsmy saviors

Gee, Yann and Andy. soul mates.
style="color:𶐎" />I was able to continue the Chile journey.

Oh Pisco Elqui what can I say

Even the Foo's could not keep me away

My exploding bum, the cactus, the rub

The thermals I turned into a bubbly tub

Oh Bahia Inglesa a place to unwind

White beaches, great place, the sun always shines

Anita and Anji and kind Aki too

Plus a crazy cabbie to complete the osiones crew.

Antofagasto - shithole.

Oh dusty San Pedro in the desert so high

The rain never falls and the stars in the sky

The three Maria's forever standing tall and true

Til a tourist knocked one down, then there were two.



Oh Ique Ique, so good they named you twice

Your beaches, your waves, the parties, paradise

Glide from the mountain where only eagles reach

Drift down to the town and land on the beach.

And lastly Arica, the last I have been

The surprise of the caves, best I have seen

Out in the surf trying my best

My whole body shouting ' you need to rest'.





For nearly thee months I have tramped



Between extremes

The ice to the south,

The desert the north

The magnificent Andes.

The South Pacific

So Chile,

Shaped like a Chilli



Thank you.

Disco out


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Beach lifeBeach life
Beach life

Arica. travellers bump into each other.


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0742s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb