Adios Arica


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Arica & Parinacota » Arica
August 1st 2009
Published: August 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Alright.. It's my last day in Arica. I'm currently trying to fit everything in my suitcases (with little luck). I really didn't buy much here but i'm trying to bring back some of the extra art supplies (I overshot how much i'd need). I donated about half of everything to the university program and about 1/4th to friends but I still have some ink and frames im working on bringing back along with gifts I'm carrying for the dean here since his daughter lives in cedar falls. (Just a heads up, most of the presents I am bringing back are fotos haha).

My trip this year was amazing. I don't really have the time to write a big final how things went here update, nor the emotional strength to do so in this moment. But I will tell you that I am ready to come home. I miss you all, and while I'm going to miss this place always and forever, I am content. I did what I came to do, I was reunited with my friends and family, I made new friendships that will stick with me through the next chapter of my life. I'm really proud of the work I did here and how I took advantage of my return to a city I love so much. I feel closure with Arica. I once said that maybe I just need two trips to a place; to be able to move on.... It might be true.. Guatemala.. now Arica... Someday I'll come back; and a wonderful life will be awaiting me here, but now I'm looking foward to seeing what new places I'll have the chance to see and get to know.

Love and hugs to all of you, and a latino kiss on the check for those of you who don't have north american personal space bubbles. I'll be back in Iowa in 48 hours. Hope to see you soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



1st August 2009

Soon
Hi The summer has been hectic - but I did get a couple of weeks away (1 to teach VVG and 1 vacating) This coming week at home with granddaughters - ah-hhh So when will I see you? Will you be in CF this year or ... Let's catch-up 3 John 2 Pries
2nd August 2009

Great summer!!!!
Amy I am just wowed by your kids...big and not so big and by their projects and most of all by your enthusiasm. Great summer and I hope you were able to get some good traveling in on the side. I spent about 12 or 13 summers in peru or guatemala or mexico or around ...working with some students...(science is my gig) or working with some archeological projects and traveling and learning. I now appreciate the opportunities I had so much. Our Latin children neighbors are awesome...and so is their culture. Giving them the support to express that is powerful. I am back in Hawaii after a month in Minn and a wonderful weekend with my birthson Paul and his family in Orlando. I have loved traveling with you. So has Paul. Happy new school year. Love jacquelyn

Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb